PDA

View Full Version : copying songs from iPod to HD.


cb911
Nov 5, 2003, 07:55 PM
hi all. i'm trying to import songs from my iPod to my PowerBook hard drive.

i've got some of my songs on my HD, but there's alot more on my iPod. what happened was i had all my iTunes/iPod stuff worked out, then i clean installed Panther, and i've only put some of the songs back on my HD and iTunes. the iPod is still synced with my previous iTunes library.

so i there any way i can get the songs off my iPod to my PB HD? i don't really want to have to put all my CD's in my PB and get all the songs that way....:rolleyes:

i tried iPodRip, but that just added the songs on my iPod to my iTunes library. it didn't copy the songs to my HD. i thought it was supposed to copy songs? or did i do something wrong?

also, does anyone know an app that can go through selected folders and delete doubles of the same file? i might need something like that when i come to organizing my music and stuff.

thanks for the help. :)

LimeLite
Nov 5, 2003, 08:31 PM
In general, if you want to put music back on to your hard drive from your iPod, you'd need to store the files on the iPod as a drive, not through iTunes. I think there are some apps that help you out, but not sure what their names are or how good they are.

mkubal
Nov 5, 2003, 08:45 PM
I would suggest Tinker Tool. It will allow you to show all invisible files and folders at which point you will be able to drag and drop from the invisible folder on the iPod that holds all of the MP3 files.

Matt

davidc2182
Nov 5, 2003, 09:19 PM
doesnt that mean that one could potentially download AAC files bought with quicktime to a non authorized computer?

idkew
Nov 5, 2003, 10:18 PM
iPodRip is your guy.

You don't want to use tinkertool, b/c it shows your music in a few folders, all unorganized and it is hard to find stuff.

ipodrip will copy over everything as it was on your computer, playlists, playcounts and all. it is shareware, but the first 10 uses are free.

i used it to transfer all my music back to my laptop after a reformat and upgrade to panther, so i don't know what your problem was. try putting ALL your music on your iPod, clearing your music on your laptop and then copyting it all back at once again. a bit of work, but it worked for me perfectly.

dieselg4
Nov 5, 2003, 10:20 PM
Originally posted by davidc2182
doesnt that mean that one could potentially download AAC files bought with quicktime to a non authorized computer?

Such is the way of digital things. . . as long as you can push the 1 and 0's around, its hard to keep things from being copied. The one-time beauty (to the RAA) of the CD was that is was uneconomical to copy (at one time). The one-time benign nature of the MP3 (or AAC) was that is was difficult to take with you (before personal MP3 players).

jimthorn
Nov 6, 2003, 12:07 PM
I'm a big fan of PodWorks (http://www.scifihifi.com/podworks/) myself. I copied my entire music library from the iPod back into my Mac after doing a clean install of Panther. Worked like a charm, and even kept everything organized in folder structure by artist, album, etc. You can pick and choose what to copy or just copy the whole library. The app can also be stored and run on the iPod itself, so you can easily copy your music off the iPod even if your HD is erased or you get a new computer. Great app.

zarathustra
Nov 6, 2003, 12:25 PM
Originally posted by davidc2182
doesnt that mean that one could potentially download AAC files bought with quicktime to a non authorized computer?

Yes it does, but it will simply ask you to type in your iTunes music store account information if you try to play the song. So even if you have the files, they are nothing more than digital waste of space.

mystixman
Nov 6, 2003, 02:26 PM
I would use a program such as Ollie's iPod Extractor (http://macupdate.com/info.php/id/12739). It's very simple to use and copies all of your music right to your hard drive :)

cb911
Nov 6, 2003, 07:31 PM
okay, i'm using iPod rip. i just didn't read the instructions properly. on my first attempt i just added all of my songs to the iTunes library, not copy them to my HD. :p

now i've got it all worked out i'm just copying the songs that i want over.

thanks for the help everyone. there is one small problem though... all the songs that i'm importing from my iPod have numbers in front of them. all the aps that i've tried have done this to the filenames. is there any way i can batch re-name the files to get rid of the number in front? it's not really necessary, but it just annoys me. :p

unc32
Nov 7, 2003, 02:47 PM
Preferenecs -> importing -> number with track