Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

p0intblank

macrumors 68030
Original poster
Sep 20, 2005
New Jersey
Hi, I am looking for a good HTML application that allows me to format everything myself, but does the coding for me in the background. That way, when I save it as an HTML file, everything displays as it should on a web page.

I have tried Taco HTML edit, but it makes me type in the coding myself. If I have to do it myself, it's not a huge deal; I have some background in HTML. I just prefer to save time and find an application that does it for me.

Thanks in advance!

p0intblank

macrumors 68030
Original poster
Sep 20, 2005
New Jersey
This is simply notes for a client of mine, generally consisting of bulleted lists and hyperlinks. I already have Dreamweaver for my more serious web tasks, but I'll give it a try if I cannot find a lighter application.

p0intblank

macrumors 68030
Original poster
Sep 20, 2005
New Jersey
MS Word can export documents as webpages, right? (Never used it, but I hear it does)

True, it does. I tried it and it had some weird issue of adding random small hyphens in places, which was annoying. But yeah, I'll go with Dreamweaver or Google Docs. Thanks for your help!

eclipse

macrumors 6502a
Nov 18, 2005
Sydney
No, not NVU... Kompozer. As NVU says, it hasn't been worked on since 2005 but Kompozer's up and running with a fairly good support forum as well.

http://www.kompozer.net/
The best choice for websites is to code by hand.

For pete's sake, why? :eek::confused::eek:

I'm no real web designer, but I would have thought something as sophisticated as Dreamweaver would be able to code well. I'm an idealist, and just assumed and hoped that it WOULD... after seeing the mess Golive made of one of my last websites. (Someone here nearly crapped their pants when I asked for some help and they were forced to look at my code. Eeeewwww!)