PDA

View Full Version : Does iPhone SDK 2 Include Xcode 3.0?




macman32
Mar 27, 2008, 10:04 PM
Hi,
I am downloading The iPhone SDK and Xcode onto my new laptop, I dont alredy have these because I forgot to get them when I was putting my files from my old mac 2 my new 1. Anyway, I need ways to make this faster, I am at a hotel with a slow internet connection, I need to know If iPhone SDK includes Xcode so I can make this faster. The SDK is at 258 MB out of 1.36 GB at a 11.1 KBPS. Xcode is at 288 MB out of 1.16 GB at 11.4 KBPS. Any suggestions? THX!!!!!


And to add, the specifications for the SDK match up with the new comp



kpua
Mar 27, 2008, 11:26 PM
Yes, I believe a full installation of Xcode can be made from just the iPhone SDK.

Sbrocket
Mar 27, 2008, 11:26 PM
The iPhone SDK includes a *BETA* version of Xcode 3.1 along with the other iPhone stuff. You don't need the regular Xcode package as well as long as you realize that you're using a Beta version of Xcode.

macman32
Mar 27, 2008, 11:27 PM
The iPhone SDK includes a *BETA* version of Xcode 3.1 along with the other iPhone stuff. You don't need the regular Xcode package as well as long as you realize that you're using a Beta version of Xcode.

OMG THANKS SOOOOOOO MUCH!!!!

zippyfly
Mar 28, 2008, 01:57 AM
I remember reading that you might have the option to install MULTIPLE versions of Xcode (or gcc?) so be careful when you do that; if you're installing the iPhone SDK onto a clean OS X install, then probably you don't need to worry about this.

gnasher729
Mar 28, 2008, 06:17 AM
Hi,
I am downloading The iPhone SDK and Xcode onto my new laptop, I dont alredy have these because I forgot to get them when I was putting my files from my old mac 2 my new 1. Anyway, I need ways to make this faster, I am at a hotel with a slow internet connection, I need to know If iPhone SDK includes Xcode so I can make this faster. The SDK is at 258 MB out of 1.36 GB at a 11.1 KBPS. Xcode is at 288 MB out of 1.16 GB at 11.4 KBPS. Any suggestions? THX!!!!!

Did you check how much they charge for your Internet connection before you started? Hope you don't get a nasty surprise. And at 11.4 KBPS (is that KiloBit or KiloByte? ), how long do you intend to stay at that hotel?

kainjow
Mar 28, 2008, 07:28 AM
I remember reading that you might have the option to install MULTIPLE versions of Xcode (or gcc?) so be careful when you do that; if you're installing the iPhone SDK onto a clean OS X install, then probably you don't need to worry about this.

I had issues with this, and spent way too long figuring it out. But the latest beta requires that it be installed at /Developer and then you can put all your older versions somewhere else (e.g. /Xcode3.0). If you don't put it at /Developer then IB will freeze up on you.

Did you check how much they charge for your Internet connection before you started? Hope you don't get a nasty surprise. And at 11.4 KBPS (is that KiloBit or KiloByte? ), how long do you intend to stay at that hotel?

He was banned... he won't be back to reply ;)

Sbrocket
Mar 28, 2008, 08:48 AM
Geez, that's some tough crackdown on spamming. POW banhammer.