PDA

View Full Version : After Effects CS3




Harryt223
Mar 29, 2008, 07:53 PM
I just had a question. I was under the impression that Adobe shut down After Effects for MAC's after 7.0? But I saw CS3 on someone's MAC.. so I assume I was wrong?

Also, does anyone know of a way to convert a project file from FCP --> AE and vice versa?

Thanks.



prestonkd
Mar 29, 2008, 08:38 PM
I just bought the Master Collection CS3 for my new Mac Pro. It includes AE CS3. I am a new Mac switcher. i have not heard about discontinuing AE for Mac. I believe that you heard wrong - and sure hope so. I love the Mac Pro - and AE.

Harryt223
Mar 30, 2008, 01:17 AM
I just bought the Master Collection CS3 for my new Mac Pro. It includes AE CS3. I am a new Mac switcher. i have not heard about discontinuing AE for Mac. I believe that you heard wrong - and sure hope so. I love the Mac Pro - and AE.

Yeah AE is pretty good. I'm also liking FCP.

However, have you used FCP.

I know someone said there is a FCP to AE converter.. but it cost $500 USD. Which in my mind is a lost, just to convert a project file.

bigbossbmb
Mar 30, 2008, 01:56 AM
Try this (http://aescripts.com/2008/01/18/magnum-the-edit-detector/).

Adobe never stopped making AE for Mac.

prestonkd
Mar 30, 2008, 08:52 AM
I bought FCS2 also at the same time. I went all out. That conversion program is probably Automatic Duck. They have several options that allow you to go between various programs. I have thought about the Pro Tools version but instead with the new system I bought Logic to see if that and STP would meet my needs. So far the combination of all of these programs is great. I am finishing up the first paid project I am doing with the new system.

Harryt223
Mar 30, 2008, 04:52 PM
Try this (http://aescripts.com/2008/01/18/magnum-the-edit-detector/).

Adobe never stopped making AE for Mac.

That plugin is AWESOME!!! Thanks.

I bought FCS2 also at the same time. I went all out. That conversion program is probably Automatic Duck. They have several options that allow you to go between various programs. I have thought about the Pro Tools version but instead with the new system I bought Logic to see if that and STP would meet my needs. So far the combination of all of these programs is great. I am finishing up the first paid project I am doing with the new system.

How's Logic? I believe it's only for sound right? And yes, the program I was refering to was Automatic Duck. I tried STP and it didn't help to much. I have a fan going off in one of my clips and STP didn't do much to help.

prestonkd
Mar 30, 2008, 05:58 PM
I haven't had time to dig real deep on Logic yet. I have been a PC Avid and Pro Tools user and have just switched and tried my first paid project on the Mac. I have really just used it for some sound beds and voiceovers. I have been concentrating on learning just enough to get my job done. From what I have seen so far Logic is a steroids version of STP and then some. It will import video and has features and abilities that STP does not. I don't know off the top of my head what EQs and such it has that STP does not but Logic is bound to be more powerful as its main function is audio only program. I do recall that there are several EQs to choose from. Surely one of those - maybe a parametric - would at least make your fan problem better. Unfortunately, sometimes bad audio is bad audio but you should still be able to make it better.

Harryt223
Mar 30, 2008, 10:09 PM
I haven't had time to dig real deep on Logic yet. I have been a PC Avid and Pro Tools user and have just switched and tried my first paid project on the Mac. I have really just used it for some sound beds and voiceovers. I have been concentrating on learning just enough to get my job done. From what I have seen so far Logic is a steroids version of STP and then some. It will import video and has features and abilities that STP does not. I don't know off the top of my head what EQs and such it has that STP does not but Logic is bound to be more powerful as its main function is audio only program. I do recall that there are several EQs to choose from. Surely one of those - maybe a parametric - would at least make your fan problem better. Unfortunately, sometimes bad audio is bad audio but you should still be able to make it better.

I've been looking and I guess there are 2 versions of Logic?

Logic Pro and Logic Express? I suppose Pro is better to get.

prestonkd
Mar 31, 2008, 10:39 AM
I thought the Pro version or Logic Studio was a no brainer for the price difference. I also got a little further discount from a little tip I picked up on here. Might not make a difference to most people but for swtichers who need to buy a lot of stuff it makes sense. I joined the National Association of Photoshop Professionals for $99.00. They have an arrangement with Apple, Adobe and others where you get a discount on stuff. It was somewhere in the %15-%17 range for software. I saved several times the membership price. Since I am not a student I was just looking forsomething to get a little break. In the next week or so I will actually move the Mac to the studio as I feel a little more comfortable with it now. Pro Tools still won't run on it however I cannot wait to use the two side by side for audio and see how they compare.