Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

thecritix

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Dec 11, 2006
West London, England
Hi All
I have a large music collection (around 80gb) on my laptop.
I'm a guitar teacher and its basically great when a student says I'd like to learn this. To be able to instantly have (9 times out of 10) what they want..
So I must keep this on the internal HD.

Recently I'm really getting into storing movies and tv shows on my mac..
The problem with this is that my hard drive isn't big enough for me to get much of a collection.

What I want to do is keep the music folder organising itself, so an import goes into Itunes folder and does all of that, but have a way of storing movies/tv shows on my external.

I don't want to tell itunes to let me organise it, or I'll have music files everywhere. Does anyone know of a good way of doing this?
Or have any advice on this topic.

Cheers
Nick

j.bond312

macrumors newbie
Jan 30, 2008
I have a way that i accidentally found, I had it so that Itunes automatically organized all of my music etc and i put all of this onto my external hard drive. Then one day i opened up itunes without the hard drive connected and what it did, was to instead create a local copy of the songs i imported with the external drive disconnected therefore showing them on the computer itself rather than on the external drive.

Therefore i would recommend simply putting all of the media you want on your external drive into itunes first, then once you are done, eject your external drive, then import all of the songs that you want to be kept on your computers hard drive this will then create a local copy. Then put the external drive back in afterwards and you now have a mixture of songs being kept on the computer and on the external drive that itunes organizes automatically, i hope thats what you are looking for!