PDA

View Full Version : My First Time


peterj1967
Nov 7, 2003, 06:01 AM
Well, it happened....

After having my fingers on and in Macs since about 1990 I have ran into a task which I simply can't do well on a Mac.

Always had a Mac at home and now I am in a PC office, which has never been a problem, but now I have to do some GIS work and that software either doesn't exists or sucks stones (that software is open source however) on the Mac platform.

Anyhow, now I need to carry a PC laptop into my home, which is a shame :-) 1 because I don't like hauling a machine around and 2 because I don't have the space in a Manhattan Studio.

Heck I even reproduced pieces of my office SQL Server on my Mac with MySQL and PHPMyAdmin. Here's to hoping the G5 brings back high end GIS software to the mac.

mactastic
Nov 7, 2003, 10:56 AM
Can you VPC it? I know it's not pleasant, but for one or two things it does ok for me. I run Autodesk's Architectural Desktop on my TiBook as a stopgap measure between places where I have access to a PC. Plus it lets me run all the little piddly programs that people only write for Windows. Slow, but better than lugging a 10 pound PC laptop around.

Awimoway
Nov 17, 2003, 03:19 AM
Suck...

I just applied for a job with a GIS company. I had a feeling Macs would be rare there, but I hadn't thought about ever having to take my work home with me. Nasty.