PDA

View Full Version : 15" Al Powerbook Woes

jcgerm
Nov 7, 2003, 08:35 AM
I've posted a few times about various problems I've had on my powerbook which I bought mid-september. In the past 2 1/2 weeks the LCD, keyboard, and the battery have all been replaced. The LCD is without white spots for the moment (although I'm not holding my breath), after 3 calls to applecare they finally agreed to replace my battery, and the fix keyboard isn't fixed. They replaced it because the upper right corner was not sticking in place. Now the entire keyboard feels "spongy," for lack of a better term (I posted abotu this yesterday). I'm pretty convinced that the aluminum is warped to the point where the keyboard doesn't fit completely into the slot that it should (it wasn't even in completely when I got it back from applecare).

I'm a switcher (i guess you could say, but I still have PC's). I bought the powerbook mainly because of OS X. I'm a student at Virginia Tech and I use this thing for all sorts of development, multimedia, and just your general everyday use. I'm going to call applecare again today and see if they can fix the problem. If they can't/won't then I don't know what to do. I can't have it going in for repair all the time. I depend on this computer now. Up to this point I am not evening close to thinking that I got my money's worth.

My last laptop was a dell and it's 2 years old and hasn't had one problem yet. It also cost $700 less than this powerbook. When I bought the powerbook I thought I was paying for quality, but I have yet to see anything close to it. I realize that some of you probably have no problems at all with your powerbooks, but this is my first apple and the impressions that I've been given aren't stacking up to a lot. I'm losing patience and confidence in Apple.

Sorry, I just had to rant some there. Anyway, does anyone have any suggestions about my situation?

jefhatfield
Nov 8, 2003, 09:10 AM