PDA

View Full Version : Mp3 export in sound editors (mp3 encoding)




cool11
Apr 3, 2008, 01:22 PM
I have two sound editor applications, soundstudio and peak pro.
None of them can save to mp3 format.
I downloaded lame mp3 encoder for mac.
I put it to application support folders but this does not help.

I also did all these things described below
http://www.bias-inc.com/support/faq/cView.php?faq_id=24
No luck again. No export to mp3, for peak pro.

Where do I have to put it in order to force the applications to 'see' the plugin?

Is there any action I should take about each application?



killmoms
Apr 3, 2008, 01:24 PM
You probably can't. Just export a mixdown in AIFF and then compress that to MP3 using a program like Max.

cool11
Apr 3, 2008, 02:16 PM
I cannot understand why this happens.
Even the simplest sound editor I had in windows back in 2000, was having the capability to export to mp3.
Now on mac, on 2008, on such good application, no option for mp3 exporting?
This is ridiculous!

I tried Max, it does not give me the option to output mp3 in less than 32kbs. I wanted 16, or 8.

DJJONES
Apr 3, 2008, 03:59 PM
I cannot understand why this happens.
Even the simplest sound editor I had in windows back in 2000, was having the capability to export to mp3.
Now on mac, on 2008, on such good application, no option for mp3 exporting?
This is ridiculous!

I tried Max, it does not give me the option to output mp3 in less than 32kbs. I wanted 16, or 8.

mp3 is not a professional format. its not a format anyone who is using those programs would most likely convert too. also its a good feature that they dont convert to mp3 that way if u ever export it in mp3 and lose the file or mix what ever you know that you still have the raw audio file vs the mp3.

its frustrating but if you have the space for a wav file or aiff use that format much better audio quality

ausdave
Apr 3, 2008, 09:27 PM
I have two sound editor applications, soundstudio and peak pro.
None of them can save to mp3 format.
I downloaded lame mp3 encoder for mac.
I put it to application support folders but this does not help.

I also did all these things described below
http://www.bias-inc.com/support/faq/cView.php?faq_id=24
No luck again. No export to mp3, for peak pro.

Where do I have to put it in order to force the applications to 'see' the plugin?

Is there any action I should take about each application?

Use Audacity... you can export to MP3 (with the optional LAME encoder library).

And its free...

http://audacity.sourceforge.net/

WinterMute
Apr 4, 2008, 05:14 AM
Protools will export to MP3, but it requires the Music Production toolkit to do so.

Export to .aiff or .wav, chuck it into iTunes and convert it to MP3 from there if you really must degrade your audio so much.

Personally when I want to really ruin a piece of music recording I put it onto analog cassette, at least you get some tape compression and harmonic distortion.....!!:D;)

DJJONES
Apr 4, 2008, 08:09 AM
Protools will export to MP3, but it requires the Music Production toolkit to do so.

Export to .aiff or .wav, chuck it into iTunes and convert it to MP3 from there if you really must degrade your audio so much.

Personally when I want to really ruin a piece of music recording I put it onto analog cassette, at least you get some tape compression and harmonic distortion.....!!:D;)

thats awesom!!!!!! lmao

jevridon
Jul 23, 2008, 01:13 PM
The reason that you cannot export to MP3 from Peak 5.x (on an Intel Macintosh, anyway) is because the LameLib.bundle most frequently indicated for Peak 5.x is not compatible with the Intel system. Bias does, however, list an updated MP3 Lame Library bundle for Peak 6.x. When I downloaded and installed this Plug-In into my Peak 5.x application on my Intel Mac machine, it worked. I can definitely be wrong about the reason for the bundle failing to work, but I have two Mac machines - one PPC and one Intel - and the older LameLib.bundles does work on my PPC. That same bundle failed me on my newer Intel machine.

The updated LameLib.bundle can be found on Bias' site here:
http://bias-inc.com/downloads/updates/archive/MP3_MP2_encoders_inside.zip

I do hope this helps.

Chairman Plow
Jul 26, 2008, 06:09 PM
Export to .aiff or .wav, chuck it into iTunes and convert it to MP3 from there if you really must degrade your audio so much.


I used to do that.... but I prefer lossless so much more. :cool:

jevridon
Jul 27, 2008, 06:25 AM
Guys,

Sometimes it is NECESSARY to convert to MP3. Let's say that one has to deliver audio content to a podcast audience or one has to deliver content to individuals utilizing an old-school MP3 player or that one has to deliver content to even an educational environment. The original question had to do with converting a format to MP3 - harping on the poor soul about alternatives that may lack viability falls off topic. I'm sure the intention to educate is good, however, it detracts from cool11's original, simple query.

Yes, MP3 is lossy and over 10 years old and is horrid; HOWEVER, 99% of the planet are NOT technicians. The delivery of a viable, playable format to a universally recognized codec is sometimes necessary outside of a tech environment.

Yes, I personally recognize that there are greater formats out there. Most of the world, however, also uses crappy PC's and xenophobic Mac users we may be, BUT we still have to be aware of the needs of others. Education - always. Forceful exclusion lacking education or resources - try it at your own risk...it is maliciousness that causes many to resent education.

Superlat
Aug 11, 2008, 07:25 PM
Any 'pro' knows that mp3 is a low-quality format, and any real 'pro' also knows that you are required to deliver mp3 formats on myspace, garageband, and many other music dissemination sites. You can post aiffs or wavs on your own website, but people might not hang around to stream 40megs instead of 5.
Thank you 'pro' for your amateur comments...

I just bought Live and it is asinine that I cannot export mp3 directly out of such an advanced program. In fact, I should be able to export mp3 and AIFF simultaneously. I still have an encoder for OS9. Besides that, I can use iTunes or Audacity, which have their respective retardations. Amazing really. I must be missing something, like Apple being an assclown for taking over the entire mp3 encoding market.

BCains
Aug 11, 2008, 09:43 PM
I have two sound editor applications, soundstudio and peak pro.
None of them can save to mp3 format.
I downloaded lame mp3 encoder for mac.
I put it to application support folders but this does not help.

I also did all these things described below
http://www.bias-inc.com/support/faq/cView.php?faq_id=24
No luck again. No export to mp3, for peak pro.

Where do I have to put it in order to force the applications to 'see' the plugin?

Is there any action I should take about each application?

Even thou they posted the question months ago, this might be handy.

Switch: here (http://www.nch.com.au/switch/)

Import your file and than export as MP3.
;)

Plumbstone
Aug 12, 2008, 08:19 AM
I cannot understand why this happens.
Even the simplest sound editor I had in windows back in 2000, was having the capability to export to mp3.
Now on mac, on 2008, on such good application, no option for mp3 exporting?
This is ridiculous!

I tried Max, it does not give me the option to output mp3 in less than 32kbs. I wanted 16, or 8.


Wow, you really don't want an 8kbs mp3, in this day and age of massive cheap storage and fast broadband you shouldn't need to go below 192, or V2 LAME. I mean can you actually hear anything at 8k?

itsnotup2u
Feb 12, 2009, 06:23 AM
Logic (even Logic 7) exports mP3 and allows you to set the bit rate to anything you want and to export simultaneously with any number of other file formats you want

deze
Feb 24, 2009, 01:39 PM
No luck again. No export to mp3, for peak pro.

Where do I have to put it in order to force the applications to 'see' the plugin?

Is there any action I should take about each application?

Download the latest lamelib for peak pro 6 and put it in any directory of your choice.
Navigate to the application "peak pro" select it and get info, cmd+i.
In the info window expand plug-ins and click the + button
add the lamelib bundle from the directory you put it in and close the info window once it has added it.
Boot up peak pro 6 and you should have the save as mp3 enabled.
:D