PDA

View Full Version : Just bought Mac Mini for Media Center




nando2323
Apr 9, 2008, 12:15 PM
I just purchased a Mac Mini for a Media Center I got a refurbished CD 1.66 with 512MB RAM. I am going to upgrade it with 2GB that I have as soon as I get it home. The question I have is has anyone hooked up a Mini to a 42" Plasma before and are there issues with resolutions and such? I know that the native resolution is 1024x768 but some people in other forums have had issues with it cutting off and such. I think most of the people use a program DisplayConfigX or something like that. Should I be worried about it or not?



supercooled
Apr 9, 2008, 12:19 PM
No helpful insight but I just wanted to comment on how odd that resolution is for a 42" plasma display.

ramlax13
Apr 9, 2008, 12:20 PM
All Depends on the TV. I have my mac mini hooked up through a DVI to HDMI cable to a 42" panasonic Plasma and I did have a lot of cutoff, Had to use DisplayConfigX to scale it down, worked perfectly. I guess it also depends on how you are connecting it to the TV. Straight DVI might work better than the cable I'm using.

nando2323
Apr 9, 2008, 12:43 PM
All Depends on the TV. I have my mac mini hooked up through a DVI to HDMI cable to a 42" panasonic Plasma and I did have a lot of cutoff, Had to use DisplayConfigX to scale it down, worked perfectly. I guess it also depends on how you are connecting it to the TV. Straight DVI might work better than the cable I'm using.

I will be using the DVI to HDMI cable that I bought my TV doesn't have a DVI plug in it. If you don't mind what are the settings that you are using in DisplayConfigX?

fivepoint
Apr 9, 2008, 12:48 PM
No helpful insight but I just wanted to comment on how odd that resolution is for a 42" plasma display.

That is not an odd TV resolution at all. It is VERY common for 720p TVs. It is actually the same resolution as my new HDTV.

nando2323
Apr 9, 2008, 01:47 PM
I have another question also. Do any of you that have a Mini for a Media Center have a wireless keyboard/mouse combo I have a seen a few on Newegg but none of them say that they will work on a mac. Here is one for example that looks pretty good too

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16823166079

fivepoint
Apr 9, 2008, 02:00 PM
I have another question also. Do any of you that have a Mini for a Media Center have a wireless keyboard/mouse combo I have a seen a few on Newegg but none of them say that they will work on a mac. Here is one for example that looks pretty good too

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16823166079

Any reason you're not going with the wireless Apple keyboard? That thing is TTTIIIIIGGGHHHHTTT!

nando2323
Apr 9, 2008, 02:12 PM
Any reason you're not going with the wireless Apple keyboard? That thing is TTTIIIIIGGGHHHHTTT!

I just dont want to have all kinds of crap on my coffee table, keyboard, mouse, remotes, etc etc etc... I was also thinking about getting the Apple wireless and using my Wiimote as a mouse XD.

GimmeSlack12
Apr 9, 2008, 02:19 PM
You have to think carefully about a keyboard. Do you even want one? Will it even be used? My Mini media center only has the FrontRow controller and that is all it is used for. I tried using a keyboard on my PS3 and 55" HDTV and it was a waste of time, typing from my lap, no where to conveniently put it.
The biggest issue I see with media center computers is the lack of easy input device.
Don't expect this thing to be useable as an internet computer when viewed from across the room. It just isn't very convenient.

nando2323
Apr 9, 2008, 02:23 PM
You have to think carefully about a keyboard. Do you even want one? Will it even be used? My Mini media center only has the FrontRow controller and that is all it is used for. I tried using a keyboard on my PS3 and 55" HDTV and it was a waste of time, typing from my lap, no where to conveniently put it.
The biggest issue I see with media center computers is the lack of easy input device.
Don't expect this thing to be useable as an internet computer when viewed from across the room. It just isn't very convenient.

I figured that much I just wanted to see if there was anything so that I don't have to unplug crap from my iMac every time I might just need the keyboard/mouse for something.

GimmeSlack12
Apr 9, 2008, 02:33 PM
I figured that much I just wanted to see if there was anything so that I don't have to unplug crap from my iMac every time I might just need the keyboard/mouse for something.

Use VNC to control the Mini. Or if you have Leopard on your iMac use Screen Sharing.

nando2323
Apr 9, 2008, 02:50 PM
Use VNC to control the Mini. Or if you have Leopard on your iMac use Screen Sharing.

Very True. But I'll still need to plug it in the first time I guess. I wish I could use my I phone as a mouse pad or something. Actually I saw something that had that if I remember correctly.

nando2323
Apr 9, 2008, 02:56 PM
I think I just found the solution to my input problem. Time to Jailbreak my iPhone tonight :) I was not going to do but now I will.

nathanjbrown
Apr 9, 2008, 04:33 PM
I plan on purchasing a Mac Mini for use in my home theater setup in the not-too-distant future. I've been compiling a list of desired components in an effort to keep myself busy (waiting, of course, for an update). I'll likely end up with the Apple Wireless Keyboard and the Logitech MX Air Wireless Mouse (http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/mice_pointers/mice/devices/3443&cl=us,en). Who wants a mouse that requires a hard surface to move on? Not gonna happen in my living room! :D

With that said...Both will likely end up hidden away 98% of the time as I favor Harmony Remotes.

Nathan

7031
Apr 9, 2008, 04:38 PM
That is not an odd TV resolution at all. It is VERY common for 720p TVs. It is actually the same resolution as my new HDTV.
Err no. 720p is 1280x720.

fivepoint
Apr 9, 2008, 04:43 PM
Err no. 720p is 1280x720.

"Err no."

There are HUNDREDS of of 768 res televisions being sold as "720p HDTVs" on Price Grabber.
http://electronics.pricegrabber.com/plasma-lcd-televisions/p/197/form_keyword=tv+1024x768/rd=1/skd=1/st=query/


In the future, I would recommend trying to have a little bit of knowlege on the topic in question before you spew your sarcastic remarks.

ramlax13
Apr 9, 2008, 10:31 PM
I will be using the DVI to HDMI cable that I bought my TV doesn't have a DVI plug in it. If you don't mind what are the settings that you are using in DisplayConfigX?



Not at all, I have it set to 1208 x 679. If you follow the instructions for displayconfigx (run the display size test and then make the adjustments accordingly) it is extremely easy to do.

nathanjbrown
Apr 10, 2008, 12:25 AM
Not to dwell on the subject, but here it is...

1024x768 is indeed a rather odd HDTV resolution (though certainly not unheard of). What makes that particular resolution odd is not the vertical resolution, but rather the horizontal resolution (1024)...Or, more specifically, the comparison of that particular horizontal resolution with its vertical resolution. Assuming standard square pixels, 1024x768 is not a 16x9 format!

But we're not dealing with square pixels! A 1024x768 HDTV with 16x9 aspect ratio has rectangular pixels. In my experience, these displays require a bit more "tweaking" when connecting them to a computer.

With that in mind, there are indeed a variety televisions with different 720p resolutions:
1366x768
1280x720
1024x768

I've had experience with all three and I much prefer 1920x1080. :)

Nathan

twynne
Apr 10, 2008, 04:23 AM
There is this Logitech product (http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/keyboards/keyboard/devices/3848&cl=gb,en?WT.ac=mb|4423||hp) which has an integrated touchpad (and is backlit) but they don't claim Mac support for it. On the other hand if it's using standard Bluetooth protocols, it should work. Anyone know either way?

I personally have the Apple wireless keyboard (Aluminium) connected to mine, and between that and the remote I find I very rarely need the mouse (but have a wireless Mighty Mouse tucked away for those occasions).

twynne
Apr 10, 2008, 04:44 AM
Just noticed in the manual for that Logitech device (above) it can be used via standard bluetooth with a PS3, no dongle required. That implies it would work with a Mac as well. Not sure what it would pair as, considering it's both a mouse and a keyboard. Maybe the bluetooth standard 'HID' profile is enough.

fivepoint
Apr 10, 2008, 08:10 AM
Not to dwell on the subject, but here it is...

1024x768 is indeed a rather odd HDTV resolution (though certainly not unheard of). What makes that particular resolution odd is not the vertical resolution, but rather the horizontal resolution (1024)...Or, more specifically, the comparison of that particular horizontal resolution with its vertical resolution. Assuming standard square pixels, 1024x768 is not a 16x9 format!

But we're not dealing with square pixels! A 1024x768 HDTV with 16x9 aspect ratio has rectangular pixels. In my experience, these displays require a bit more "tweaking" when connecting them to a computer.

With that in mind, there are indeed a variety televisions with different 720p resolutions:
1366x768
1280x720
1024x768

I've had experience with all three and I much prefer 1920x1080. :)

Nathan

Point is well taken about the 1024 horizontal pixel number. Mine is 1366, and that is a lot more prominently used than 1024. Now that I think about it, I think 1024x768 may hhave been the resolution of old 15" G4 iMacs. Maybe someone can verify.

Also, 1920x1080 is cetainly the best resolution of that bunch, but unfortunately as it stands right now you often times pay between 50%-90% more for the exact same TV in a 1080p version. (with plasmas anyway)

For most people, this resolution is simply wasted since you can not see the difference unless you are considerably closer than most people sit to their TVs. It is physically impossible for your eyes to resolve those pixels at normal viewing distances.

With a 42" tv, you should almost NEVER get 1080p. It isn't worth the price. With a 50" tv, you should only get a 1080p if you are sitting closer than about 8 ft. or so. Even then many people can't see the difference.

nando2323
Apr 10, 2008, 11:02 AM
Just noticed in the manual for that Logitech device (above) it can be used via standard bluetooth with a PS3, no dongle required. That implies it would work with a Mac as well. Not sure what it would pair as, considering it's both a mouse and a keyboard. Maybe the bluetooth standard 'HID' profile is enough.

Here is what I am using this is great! I had to jailbreak my iPhone but it was worth it.

http://lifehacker.com/363655/use-your-iphone-as-a-multi+touch-mouse-with-touchpad-pro

nathanjbrown
Apr 10, 2008, 12:13 PM
Point is well taken about the 1024 horizontal pixel number. Mine is 1366, and that is a lot more prominently used than 1024. Now that I think about it, I think 1024x768 may hhave been the resolution of old 15" G4 iMacs. Maybe someone can verify.

Also, 1920x1080 is cetainly the best resolution of that bunch, but unfortunately as it stands right now you often times pay between 50%-90% more for the exact same TV in a 1080p version. (with plasmas anyway)

For most people, this resolution is simply wasted since you can not see the difference unless you are considerably closer than most people sit to their TVs. It is physically impossible for your eyes to resolve those pixels at normal viewing distances.

With a 42" tv, you should almost NEVER get 1080p. It isn't worth the price. With a 50" tv, you should only get a 1080p if you are sitting closer than about 8 ft. or so. Even then many people can't see the difference.

Yep! 1920x1080 on a 40 inch screen, for example, is pretty much worthless...Though that is exactly what I have! :) I was willing to pay the higher price tag just to get a resolution that would be perfectly/easily compatible with an HTPC (1:1 pixel mapping).

My dream television? A 60+ inch 1920x1080 plasma... :D

Now back to the OP's topic...(sorry for the off-topic banter)

Nathan

rolex54
Apr 10, 2008, 02:42 PM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/4A102 Safari/419.3)

Point is well taken about the 1024 horizontal pixel number. Mine is 1366, and that is a lot more prominently used than 1024. Now that I think about it, I think 1024x768 may hhave been the resolution of old 15" G4 iMacs. Maybe someone can verify.

Also, 1920x1080 is cetainly the best resolution of that bunch, but unfortunately as it stands right now you often times pay between 50%-90% more for the exact same TV in a 1080p version. (with plasmas anyway)

For most people, this resolution is simply wasted since you can not see the difference unless you are considerably closer than most people sit to their TVs. It is physically impossible for your eyes to resolve those pixels at normal viewing distances.

With a 42" tv, you should almost NEVER get 1080p. It isn't worth the price. With a 50" tv, you should only get a 1080p if you are sitting closer than about 8 ft. or so. Even then many people can't see the difference.

Yep! 1920x1080 on a 40 inch screen, for example, is pretty much worthless...Though that is exactly what I have! :) I was willing to pay the higher price tag just to get a resolution that would be perfectly/easily compatible with an HTPC (1:1 pixel mapping).

My dream television? A 60+ inch 1920x1080 plasma... :D

Now back to the OP's topic...(sorry for the off-topic banter)

Nathan

1024x768 is the resolution on my old iBook g4
I believe it is a 4:3 ratio resolution