PDA

View Full Version : MB or MBP with Apogee Duet

kilian
Apr 20, 2008, 07:59 AM
Hi,
Im new to Mac and wanna buy a MB or MBP for recording guitar, voice etc.
As I plan to record step by step (first guitar with a drum loop, then bass, then voice...) and just bought a Apogee Duet Im between the MB or MBP and want one as I need a portable to go to friends.
I will use Logic Pro. Is there any difference in using a MB or MBP for my needs?
Anyway, my only need will be using it for recording my ideas and make a complete song step by step. No bigger projects - for example recording a whole band.
Thanks in advance for any advice.:):)

Luap
Apr 20, 2008, 09:50 AM
I expect the regular MacBook will be more than adequate. It doesn't look like you will be overly demanding of it, so go for it :)
The MacBook Pro's are nice, but don't hold any huge advantages for music use.. Bigger screen is nice of course though. One of the main advantages of the pro is the much better graphics spec. But this is not required for music production.

Apogee Duet is supposedly a very nice interface too. And will work nicely on either model of Mac. Should certainly sound noticeably nicer than the built in audio ins & outs. It has its flaws mind, like no balanced IO, and that silly breakout cable. But I think I could live with that..

RedRedBlockhead
Apr 20, 2008, 10:39 AM
It has balanced inns, and I think their argument for not having balanced outs holds true.

Luap
Apr 20, 2008, 12:31 PM
It has balanced inns, and I think their argument for not having balanced outs holds true.

Doh! i stand corrected :) I should know better, I've been eyeing them up for the past week... I guess im just thinking of line level In & outs. As this is likely all I will ever use. And those are of course unbalanced. Its the Mic inputs which are balanced.

kilian
Apr 20, 2008, 02:37 PM