View Full Version : what a great deal
krypticos
Apr 21, 2008, 12:55 PM
i just found a macbook pro 15.4 2.16 2gb ram for 660 dollars in the uk. i live in the states. but i thought that was a great deal thought i would share.:D
adamjohn_98
Apr 21, 2008, 12:59 PM
Be awfully careful with deals that seem "too good to be true", especially foreign deals. It's easy to get burned if you're not careful. Additionally, only use reliable and refundable payment methods such as Paypal.
krypticos
Apr 21, 2008, 01:06 PM
u agree we are using dhl he sends the package then i go to dhl and look at it and if i want it then i tell them to go through with the payment i think it is pretty cool here the link (http://webshipping-dhl.co.uk/ecommerce/webship.high.html) dhl is different
CanadaRAM
Apr 21, 2008, 01:14 PM
It's a freakin' scam, dude. Please think about it a minute and don't let greed blind you.
Phone up DHL and ask them if they have an escrow service, and how it works. Answer - it doesn't. DHL's web address is DHL.com. The web link you gave is NOT DHL, do you understand that? See below - It is some guy calls himself richard eremias -- both the name and address could very well be phony.
The place you send the money to will not be DHL, it will be a phony. Then when your machine never arrives, you'll go to the real DHL and find out that they know nothing about webshipping-dhl dot co dot uk and the money is long gone.
WHOIS
Domain name:
webshipping-dhl.co.uk
Registrant:
richard eremias
Registrant type:
Unknown
Registrant's address:
40c bilston street
sedgley
DY3 1JB
GB
Registrar:
Freezone Internet Ltd t/a FreeZone [Tag = FREEZONE]
URL: http://www.freezone.co.uk
I'm guessing you saw an ad on Craigslist or another free classified, emailed, and the guy gave you some story about being in England right now but he can ship it to you (insert long involved explanation about how perfectly safe it is). He even offered to ship it for free, right?
Treat EVERY craigslist sale that is not in your local area as a scam. There is no reason for someone to advertise goods on your local craigslist if they are hundreds or thousands of miles away. Insist on face to face transactions, in a public place, where you get to inspect the goods, (fior a high cash value transaction, make it clear you will NOT be carrying the cash, but will go to the bank with the seller and get the cash if the goods are acceptable) and get receipts.
adamjohn_98
Apr 21, 2008, 01:14 PM
u agree we are using dhl he sends the package then i go to dhl and look at it and if i want it then i tell them to go through with the payment i think it is pretty cool here the link (http://webshipping-dhl.co.uk/ecommerce/webship.high.html) dhl is different
Thanks for the link, I didn't know DHL offered that service.
MattZani
Apr 21, 2008, 01:19 PM
This has SCAM all over it, you realise Macbook Pro's Start at $2,600 in the uk? If its cheaper to buy it from the Uk, its a scam.
shoulin333
Apr 21, 2008, 01:20 PM
that web address is a fake
XXXXX-dhl.co.uk is not a subdomain of dhl.co.uk but a fake site
it would be XXXXX.dhl.co.uk if it was real!
Dont fall for it, i mean look at the DHL title pic on that site, see how pixilated it is...
adamjohn_98
Apr 21, 2008, 01:22 PM
that web address is a fake
XXXXX-dhl.co.uk is not a subdomain of dhl.co.uk but a fake site
it would be XXXXX.dhl.co.uk if it was real!
Dont fall for it, i mean look at the DHL title pic on that site, see how pixilated it is...
Good eye shoulin333
krypticos
Apr 21, 2008, 01:31 PM
thanks every one for posting i figured it was a scam i was posting to find out thinks everyone. sorry i want to get a newer mac laptop than my g3 ibook i love it but i need something newer lol. internet videos are just not the same with a slow lappy lol
CanadaRAM
Apr 21, 2008, 01:32 PM
Thanks for the link, I didn't know DHL offered that service.
They don't :rolleyes:
thanks every one for posting i figured it was a scam i was posting to find out thinks everyone. sorry i want to get a newer mac laptop than my g3 ibook i love it but i need something newer lol. internet videos are just not the same with a slow lappy lol
Nice attempt at recovery, there.
DHL corporate fraud dept. has been informed.
thegoldenmackid
Apr 21, 2008, 01:37 PM
This is one of the better scams that has been reported here...I'm still waiting for someone to reply with, "but it says DHL rights reserved on the bottom"
b/c of course those people that are trying to scam you would not be malicious enough to violate a couple of copyright/fraud laws in the process
krypticos
Apr 21, 2008, 01:38 PM
well i just emailed uk dhl to tell them about the site so maybe they will stop them or something
Neil321
Apr 21, 2008, 02:11 PM
You have only got to compare this,real (http://www.dhl.co.uk/publish/gb/en.low.html) not real (http://webshipping-dhl.co.uk/ecommerce/webship.high.html),to see it's a fake site
vBulletin® v3.8.6, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.