Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

redwing

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 13, 2007
Today, april 28, Apple released new Imacs. the top end has a 3.06 ghz processor, 500 gb hard drive, 2 gigs ram and decent video card. Would this machine be better than a quad core 2.8 ghz Mac Pro (2008 ver)? What are the advantages of the Pro model over the Imac for programs like Logic?

ZiggyPastorius

macrumors 68040
Sep 16, 2007
Berklee College of Music
I'm no expert or anything, but I'd say it depends on how heavy of a user you are...My Macbook SR 2.0Ghz C2d with 4GB of RAM runs Logic Express perfectly, and I don't have any issues. Obviously, if you need to do heavier work, a Macbook isn't going to cut it...I'd say if you plan on doing heavy audio work as your main work for a long time, go for the Mac Pro, if you can't justify the cost, get the iMac..it sure looks like a sweet deal now with the upgrade.

Good luck!

By the way, I've noticed my RAM has more to do with the Logic performance than my processor, but, I also don't do really heavy work...It barely taxes one of my cores more than like 30%, ever.

yadmonkey

macrumors 65816
Aug 13, 2002
Western Spiral
As Ziggy said, if you're not doing heavy work then any current Mac will do the trick. However if you're recording lots of simultaneous tracks, I'd go with a Macbook Pro, iMac, or Mac Pro. Any of those should have more than enough power.

I've been recording to my 2GHz Macbook (pre-Santa Rosa) and it's been great, but I only record two tracks at a time.

zimv20

macrumors 601
Jul 18, 2002
toronto
if you're recording lots of simultaneous tracks, I'd go with a Macbook Pro

recording takes up little system resources, like CPU and RAM. all you need is a fast, dedicated drive for that. the more powerful systems are needed for CPU/RAM intensive operations like plug-ins and virtual instruments.

yadmonkey

macrumors 65816
Aug 13, 2002
Western Spiral