PDA

View Full Version : Mac Pro for $1000???




silbeej
May 1, 2008, 09:25 PM
So i found a Mac Pro New in box on craigslist for 1000. How legit you all think this is? I don't really need a new computer now, but ive wanted a mac desktop since i switched over a year ago. Whats your take?



DeuceDeuce
May 1, 2008, 09:29 PM
So i found a Mac Pro New in box on craigslist for 1000. How legit you all think this is? I don't really need a new computer now, but ive wanted a mac desktop since i switched over a year ago. Whats your take?


Not legit at all... C'mon my man, why would anyone sell a new Mac Pro for $1000?

dukebound85
May 1, 2008, 09:31 PM
gotta use some common sense here

runplaysleeprun
May 1, 2008, 09:32 PM
if it sounds too good to be true...

ryannel2003
May 1, 2008, 09:34 PM
I've been ripped off on Craigslist several times (well very close too)... but I would say this is a huge rip off. You might get a Mac Pro with a bare case and some CD drives... or maybe it would be shredded to ensure better delivery?

No, I would touch it.

yojitani
May 1, 2008, 09:40 PM
So i found a Mac Pro New in box on craigslist for 1000. How legit you all think this is? I don't really need a new computer now, but ive wanted a mac desktop since i switched over a year ago. Whats your take?

If it's local, go check it out. If not, it's bound to be a scam. I have come across people on craigslist with no clue... perhaps you got lucky and found one!

Wild-Bill
May 1, 2008, 09:42 PM
Sounds like a scam to me. Big scam.

Sun Baked
May 1, 2008, 09:50 PM
Hmmm....

How many bricks do you have to put in the box to make it feel like a Mac.

---

Buy it, and tell us. :)

CanadaRAM
May 1, 2008, 10:42 PM
Guides: Buying online - Is this company Legitimate? (http://guides.macrumors.com/Buying_Online_-_Is_This_Company_Legitimate%3F)

silbeej
May 1, 2008, 11:36 PM
http://hartford.craigslist.org/sys/663264773.html

I emailed the guy, and if i can go see it, i'll ask to open the case. I really don't think i can afford to get a new compu anyways, but it seems like a steal if it's real.

Sun Baked
May 1, 2008, 11:46 PM
If you show up with $500 he will probably take it, or thump you over the head and run off with your car and the $500.

SamIchi
May 1, 2008, 11:47 PM
Some warning signs of CL scams.

-They don't list a location
-They list a bunch of specs
-The reply email involves having the item mailed
-They are conveniently not in town but can still try to make the transaction
-The price is obviously low.

silbeej
May 1, 2008, 11:55 PM
lol

The New
May 2, 2008, 01:25 AM
Two words: Stay Away!

foidulus
May 2, 2008, 02:11 AM
http://hartford.craigslist.org/sys/663264773.html

I emailed the guy, and if i can go see it, i'll ask to open the case. I really don't think i can afford to get a new compu anyways, but it seems like a steal if it's real.

You may be more correct than you think, on the off chance that it is real, it may very well be stolen, which means you could potentially face criminal charges....

Abstract
May 2, 2008, 05:16 AM
I'm sorry, but do you have any natural instincts at all? That brain which came with your body isn't there just to fill the empty space. Use it. Love it. Embrace thought.