PDA

View Full Version : Tips for Recording Acoustic Guitar in Soundtrack Pro with a SM57

stinkey diver
May 9, 2008, 03:38 PM
Hi. I've recently purchased a m-audio mobile pre usb and a Shure SM57. Im very new to soundtrack which is what ill be using and need a few tips. I will mostly be recording acoustic guitar 6 and 12 string. Since the preamp is only recording one channel with my mic i've being converting everything to mono and then applying effects. Mostly reverb. But id like to make my guitars sound a bit more alive, crisper and deeper. Any advice would be great thanks.

zimv20
May 9, 2008, 05:11 PM
sm57 isn't my first choice for acoustic. grab a decent condenser mic (the better-than-its-price AT 2020 should be at the top of your list there) and record in a non-dead space.

you may find you don't need as much processing as you expect.

stinkey diver
May 9, 2008, 05:37 PM
I realize that a condenser mic will sound allot better for recording than a sm57 but its all I can really afford at the moment. But ill put it at the top of my list.

zimv20
May 9, 2008, 05:57 PM
in that case, make sure you've got fresh strings and play with mic positioning, such as pointing the shure at different parts of the neck.

same comment applies about recording in a decent space, though.

stinkey diver
May 9, 2008, 06:09 PM
So having the mic pointed at the sound hole is not always best?

zimv20
May 9, 2008, 07:26 PM

I'd say usually not.

WinterMute
May 10, 2008, 06:20 AM

The sound hole on an acoustic is designed to amplify the bass on the instrument, and as the SM57 is going to lack HF response this placement will yield a very bassy sound.

Try positioning the mic around the heel of the neck, which is roughly the center of the speaking length of the strings.