PDA

View Full Version : Problems with Full restore using Time Capsule backup???




m021478
May 11, 2008, 09:47 PM
For some reason my MacBook Pro recently crapped out completely, and I am trying to do a complete restore of the OS via a full backup I made with using Time Machine onto my Time Capsule disk, but I am running into some problems doing so and I was hoping someone might have some insight as to how I should deal with things at this point...

Here's where things get messy...

- I insert my Mac OS X 10.5 Installation DVD into my Macbook and boot from the drive, and I immediately choose the menu option to 'Restore from Time Capsule Backup'...

- After logging into my Time Capsule and then choosing the proper .sparseimage file to restore from, I click 'continue' and it brings me to the screen where I choose where I want to restore to (which in my case, is the one and only internal HD inside my Macbook Pro)

- The bottom of this window tells me that it's "Calculating space required to restore data..." but it simply hangs at the point with a spinning wheel indicating its still doing the calculating, but never actually presents me with the space required, not does it allow me to click continue to perform the restore?? I've allowed it over an hour to calculate the space required and it still just spins its status wheel...

This is where I am stuck at this point, and I have no idea how to get it to proceed to the next step to allow me to perform the restore??

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated, as I will have no choice but to do a complete reinstall (including all apps and data) if I can't get the backup restored... Thanks!



doug.hall
May 28, 2008, 02:44 PM
Stick with it. Even when I was connected via Ethernet (not via wireless) it still took over 20 minutes to calculate the space required so if you're doing it over a wireless connection I would expect that time would be even more. btw my mac is currently saying that the full restore via Ethernet will take 29 hours:eek:

I hope this helps...

michaelvoigt
Nov 18, 2009, 11:25 AM
I was not pleased that the restore UI didn't warn you about having to format your drive first, come on man!

I went through the entire process and then waited for 20 min at the 'determining size' UI, when it completed I was presented with a select disk UI with no disks to select. I had to GOOGLE to determine that I needed to format the drive and restart, this is not a polished Mac experience at all!

I also determined the 2nd time around that you can just click on the 'determine size' UI and just continue, what is up with that?

So then I picked the new disk as the target and let the restore go over ethernet connected from the Time Capsule, it estimated the time at 15 hours for a 120 GB restore. I let it run overnight.

In the morning, it was finished so it didn't take 15 hours. The UI stated that it completed successfully.

Then, I clicked the restart now button but the restore panel didn't go away. Again, this was very unpolished. I had to hold down the power button to restart.

Then, the mac loaded from CD, not the restored disk. I decided to use the start-up disk utility. I indicated to use the restored disk as the start-up disk.

The mac is now in a infinite loop of restarting over and over.