Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ricgnzlzcr

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 7, 2005
I just graduated from a sociology undergraduate program in Maryland. It's something I was so-so interested in because I thought I would go on to do something in business, but have started to have second thoughts. In all honesty I'm just interested in the computer world. I like the way programs help different niches perform tasks and have a desire to learn how to build them.

To make a long story short, I'm thinking about going back to school to get a degree in computer science. I'd love to work as a software engineer but have no idea if I'm even fit to do so since I have no knowledge of programming.

I guess what I want to ask is what are the steps I should take to reaching that goal. Should I apply for admission to an undergraduate program in the winter and spent the next 6 months learning as much as I can about programming? Are there specific languages or subjects I should know about before even applying? I'm a little lost and constructive suggestions would be wonderful right now.

Basically, what in the world should I do? :confused::eek:

ricgnzlzcr

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 7, 2005
I love math. Always have. I took courses up to calculus in high school but never really moved on from there because it wasn't really required for my major. Regardless, I'd love to learn more.

In terms of science, I'm decently interested in biology and chemistry, but I'm sure I'd love physics most.

lee1210

macrumors 68040
Jan 10, 2005
Dallas, TX
if there is a good CS program at the same university you got your degree from, you should just need some extra math, maybe 1-2 science courses, and perhaps some philosophy/logic/ethics.