Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mac-convert

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Nov 2, 2006
Are we there yet?
Hi all,

I have collected quite a few wallpapers of sceneries and whatnot from around the world. I like to cycle these every 15 minutes just to break the concentration a bit when I am working too seriously on a project. What I would like to do is go back and add a text label to these, say at the bottom left with a short description of what/where it is I am looking at.

I am studying web design, but not graphics design, so something like photoshop is not even an option. I have a version of gimp installed, and was really thinking about looking at pixelmator later.

Is this/ or what do I need, and what would be the basic steps to accomplish this. I have a 24" iMac ALU and all of my wallpapers are 1920x1200.

Again - my graphics background is limited to drawing straight lines with a ruler. Thanks - be gentle.

mashny

macrumors regular
Sep 3, 2006
If all you need to do is put labels on the photos, just open them up and type the label wherever you want it, then close it. I've never used Gimp, but I'm sure there's a text tool in it.

mashny

macrumors regular
Sep 3, 2006
It really is that easy. As long as the photos are where they should be in your directory, you can do whatever you want to them and they will display.

stainlessliquid

macrumors 68000
Sep 22, 2006
web design IS graphic design. Unless you mean web developing like PHP then I dont know how you can get by with webdesign without knowing graphic applications like Photoshop.

mac-convert

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Nov 2, 2006
Are we there yet?
First, mashny - you are right - it is that easy. Gimp wasn't that obvious, but in Pixelmator it was - that has sold me on that program!