PDA

View Full Version : Installing tiger on powerbook




Gilgland
May 25, 2008, 02:27 AM
I have a Powerbook who's hard drive died. I got a new hard drive and an install disc that said it is only for a G4 powerbook. i booted from disc 1of 2 and it let me selectEnglish as the lang. but then said "Alert this software cannot be installed on this computer" and gives me 2 options : restart or startup disc. It will let me run disc utility but it will not install. Any idea why? Do I have the wrong discs even tho they say g4 powerbook?



bartelby
May 25, 2008, 02:49 AM
Are the discs grey?
If they are they should tell you which machine they are for

EDIT: Sorry you said it was for PB only. :o

You have formatted the drive, right?

Gilgland
May 27, 2008, 04:33 PM
Yea they are gray and say powerbook G4 on them. I have a 15" 1.5ghz powerbook.

Yes I did format the drive.

Did they make an install disc for tiger that was a full install (instead of an upgrade) and was not specific to a particular model?

android88
Jul 28, 2008, 05:20 PM
this is the exact same problem i seem to have except my laptop is older its the titanium powerbook g4. im sure its the right disc it only says powerbook g4 on it.