Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

nagromme

macrumors G5
Original poster
May 2, 2002
I’m still pretty new to Quake Wars myself, but I have some beginner advice. Don't be afraid of the complexity: do what you know, and the rest will make sense later. Practice against bots, but don’t be afraid to play online and die a lot: you can still help your team, and you'll soon see your stats (tracked by Ranked servers) start to improve. 4newbies and BattleWiki are good reference sources to answer your questions, or search the official forums. GreasedScotsman’s tutorial videos are also helpful.

Meanwhile, here are two easy, non-complicated roles you can start with right away:

s26723_pc_2.jpg

Best choice: play as a GDF Medic, and if you do the following you WILL be helping your team:

1. Look on your screen for a floating yellow diamond showing the direction to the current objective. If you don't see one, look at the sides of your screen for a little yellow arrow. Go there! If you can't survive in the heart of the fight, spend more time on the edges.

2. Hit 5 for defibrillators (3 gets your gun back).

3. Get up close to anyone--human OR Strogg--who is lying injured on the ground. Aim at them and click.

That's all it takes to help your team a lot. There's much more you can do (press 6 to be able to toss health packs around the battlefield--which you can even pick up yourself) but simply clicking with defibs does many things:

* Defibs on a fallen teammate revives them.

* Defibs (or any weapon) on a fallen enemy makes them impossible to revive (it may take more than one hit to make them stop moving).

* Defibs on a glowing red "spawn host" body destroys it--very useful. (Spawn hosts are a secondary way that Strogg can "revive.")

* But defibs on a body that's not "twitching" is useless--they’re already completely dead. Go for the moving bodies and the spawn hosts.

s26723_pc_80.jpg