PDA

View Full Version : Visual Hub - Encoding for AppleTV + PS3




Kempokidd
May 29, 2008, 07:32 AM
Hi all

Recently i just started a collection of HD movies for the family to watch on the AppleTV. I like to have the best possible quality videos so currently i have been encoding the videos in visual Hub using the mp4 tab on the go nuts setting, as well as making the bitrate for video 5500, and sound at 160, resulting in movies that range from 6 - 4 gig in size.

I am very happy with the files and how they work with my appleTV, but last week i purchased a PS3 for my bedroom and i would love for these files to work on my PS3 but they simply dont, with the ps3 complaining that the files are corrupt.

Im not to far into my collection so restarting the encoding on the files to work on both my appleTV and ps3 wont be that great a hassle.

Does anyone have any settings that work for both the AppleTV and the PS3 ?

I would greatly appriciate and help !



arcsbite
Jul 12, 2008, 07:13 AM
Did you ever solve this problem?
I find myself in the same situation right now.

wwooden
Jul 12, 2008, 08:02 AM
Do you use MetaX to tag all your movies? I also have an AppleTV and a PS3 and anything that I ran through MetaX does not work on the PS3. I'm not sure if it changes something in the structure of the file, but I get the exact same "corrupt" message you do. I haven't found a solution to this yet, but my AppleTV and PS3 are connected to the same tv so it doesn't bother me as much.

Donar
Jul 12, 2008, 09:11 AM
Do you have AC3 sound in your .MP4 files (or was it .m4v?) It seems that the PS3 does not like Videos with (AAC and) AC3 sound. I only did a short test with Handbrake where i encoded a DVD with Apple TV Settings for my PS3.

The PS3 did not like the extension, after i changed it the PS3 said the file was corrupt...

darious1473
Jul 13, 2008, 11:12 AM
I found that the PS3 can be picky over which files it will play. I found that be setting the level manually it would work fine.

Try adding "-level 41" (without the quotes) to the video extra FFMpeg flags.

This solved my problem.

Donar
Jul 13, 2008, 03:07 PM
...and anything that I ran through MetaX does not work on the PS3...
Tried this myself today with MetaX 2.3.0 (i only have a 800 GHz ibook to test), the tagged file was "corrupted" according to my PS3. Is there someone who had more luck, maybe with a newer version of MetaX?

impact1290
Jul 15, 2008, 11:42 PM
I'd hate to have to go back and redo all of my movies:(

BigSlim
Aug 17, 2009, 03:12 PM
I think I can remember reading somewhere there is a file size limit to what the ps3 can play? I have both a ps3 and xbox360 and both are limited to a file-size of 4GB if my memory serves me right

dynaflash
Aug 17, 2009, 03:13 PM
I think I can remember reading somewhere there is a file size limit to what the ps3 can play? I have both a ps3 and xbox360 and both are limited to a file-size of 4GB if my memory serves me right
which means neither can play a 64 bit mp4.

BigSlim
Aug 17, 2009, 03:35 PM
Whats the difference between a 64bit mp4 file and what I must presume must be the norm a 32bit mp4? I thought it was up to the media player to utilize any 64bit capabilities for best playback and not the media itself?

dynaflash
Aug 17, 2009, 04:03 PM
Whats the difference between a 64bit mp4 file and what I must presume must be the norm a 32bit mp4? I thought it was up to the media player to utilize any 64bit capabilities for best playback and not the media itself?

Nope, as per mp4 specs a 32 bit mp4 cannot be any larger than 4 GB. The muxer needs to mux the file as 64 bit to allow files larger than 4 GB. However this *can* introduce incompatiblities with devices that do not support 64 bit mp4 files. The atv does support 64 bit mp4.

BigSlim
Aug 17, 2009, 04:06 PM
I'm just curious now.. so does that mean if say you had a 5GB Video file and tried playing it on a 32bit windows machine it would have trouble opening/playing it?

dynaflash
Aug 17, 2009, 04:07 PM
no. 64 bit mp4 formatting has nothing to do with the OS. Its how the file is muxed. In other words a 32 bit OS will play a 64 bit mp4 just fine.