PDA

View Full Version : 10.5.3 Internet Problems on Mac Mini




Scorpio12345
May 29, 2008, 10:58 AM
Hi there,

I just updated my Mac Mini from 10.5.2 to 10.5.3.

Everthing seems fine, however my internet over ethernet has suddenly stopped working ever since i updated.

The same ethernet connection is working fine on my laptop (which i am using to post this).

I tried Windows over Boot Camp on the Mini, and the problem continues to persist. It sees the cable, but cannot connect.

I'm downloading the Combo Update to re-apply it, but are there any other ideas? thanks in advance!



gehrbox
May 29, 2008, 11:12 AM
Hi there,

I just updated my Mac Mini from 10.5.2 to 10.5.3.

Everthing seems fine, however my internet over ethernet has suddenly stopped working ever since i updated.

The same ethernet connection is working fine on my laptop (which i am using to post this).

I tried Windows over Boot Camp on the Mini, and the problem continues to persist. It sees the cable, but cannot connect.

I'm downloading the Combo Update to re-apply it, but are there any other ideas? thanks in advance!

I did the update on a Mini Mac (1.83 C2D) yesterday without problems.

Did you verify your TCP/IP settings in network preferences? Have you attempted to reset your mini's NVRAM or PRAM?

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1379

If that does not work, is DHCP getting your computer an IP address? Try setting the address manually to one in your subnet and attempt to ping the router. If you can ping it, try to browse the router.

Scorpio12345
May 29, 2008, 11:32 AM
I did the update on a Mini Mac (1.83 C2D) yesterday without problems.

Did you verify your TCP/IP settings in network preferences? Have you attempted to reset your mini's NVRAM or PRAM?

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1379

If that does not work, is DHCP getting your computer an IP address? Try setting the address manually to one in your subnet and attempt to ping the router. If you can ping it, try to browse the router.

Thank you so much for the swift reply!

Resetting the PRAM seemed to work after a couple of reboots!!

Thanks again!