PDA

View Full Version : ATV does find synced macs tv shows???




Lone*Star
Jun 2, 2008, 04:34 PM
What should I do??? I have synced my itunes library and have set-up an photo album that is synced fine but I cant access any of my purchased itunes tv shows??? I have been trying to fix this for a day or two but no luck. thanks:(



neven
Jun 2, 2008, 04:50 PM
We need more detail.

Sorry to turn your thread into a general complaint against question of this sort, but what did you think we would say? "Click the TURN TV SHOWS ON button"?

Why can't you access the shows - what's the problem or error?
Where are the shows stored?
Do they play fine on your computer?
Can you try playing them from another computer, accessing your computer as a shared iTunes library?
Does it matter if you sync or stream the shows?

Lone*Star
Jun 2, 2008, 05:02 PM
I have the shows stored on a macbook linked over a wireless g network, and I did hope there was a configuration error in my set-up...tell me to click a single button i'll be delighted. the error is..........."There are no tv show on your apple tv.......set up a connection with itunes or purchace shows from the itunes store if you have already setup itunes make sure it's open on your computer...........my movies have synced, my pictures I can access you tube flicker ect....... I can even stream internet radio from itunes but no luck with my Tv Shows already purched on my mb.;)

Kilamite
Jun 2, 2008, 05:02 PM
You need to log into your iTunes Account on the Apple TV for them to play. Same applies for purchased DRM music.

Lone*Star
Jun 2, 2008, 05:27 PM
I just checked that I am signed in.....I checked some of my drm'd music and it's not there either......so I signed out signed back in and checked again...no luck......could it be that I have to many computers authorized?

Kilamite
Jun 2, 2008, 05:37 PM
Are the TV Shows actually on the Apple TV or are you streaming?

Lone*Star
Jun 2, 2008, 05:39 PM
I am in synced mode with a custom setting rather than automatic.....all content is on my mb

Kilamite
Jun 2, 2008, 05:45 PM
And the TV Shows involved play back fine on your MacBook?

Have you any new TV Shows you'd like to purchase?

Lone*Star
Jun 2, 2008, 05:47 PM
sorry yes they play fine and will stream to friends computers

mallbritton
Jun 2, 2008, 05:58 PM
Uncheck the option to "only show synced content on the :apple:TV." At least that's as close as I can remember what it says.

Regards,
Michael

Lone*Star
Jun 2, 2008, 06:09 PM
it's unchecked and i have purchased directly from the atv fine

sandman42
Jun 2, 2008, 06:40 PM
Does your :apple:TV show up as a 'Device' in iTunes on your computer? In other words, when your computer and your :apple:TV are both on and connected to your network, look in the column on the left in iTunes -- is your :apple:TV listed under 'Devices'?

Lone*Star
Jun 2, 2008, 06:44 PM
I cant figure this out...everything I have read about this and other problems I double check and is set up correctly on my mb, itunes, and .....any other suggestions?????please:(

Lone*Star
Jun 2, 2008, 06:47 PM
yes they are synced and show in one others menus I have transfer my photos, I can strwam internet radio from the mb I can catch my podcast that happen to be in the movies tabs I just cant access any of my drm'd content like tv shows and music purchased through itunes store

Kilamite
Jun 2, 2008, 07:10 PM
Do you have any other TV Shows that aren't DRM that are viewable on your Apple TV?

Lone*Star
Jun 2, 2008, 10:51 PM
there is not any but ironically I left the house earlier and came back and now the shows and music are available.......funny thank for the help guys :cool:

Donz0r
Jun 26, 2008, 08:47 AM
I'm currently having this EXACT SAME PROBLEM.
I have a macbook,
apple tv shows up in devices,
i have custom sync settings - basically i'm not syncing anything at the moment, and i have the box unchecked for 'show only synced items'
i'm logged in on the same account in itunes and on ATV.
I can stream music, movies, and photos on my ATV, but no TV Shows.
Also, when I click on TV Shows under the ATV in iTunes, there's nothing. but when I click on TV Shows under Library all of them are there. All purchased from iTunes.
Maybe it'll be working when I get home from work? Perhaps it just takes time for iTunes to authorize the AppleTV

Lone*Star
Jul 2, 2008, 01:46 AM
im having this problem again and the problem seems to be that the apple tv is unable to access the itunes store for authorization...this is of course what itunes says after I request itunes to sync how ever this makes since to me as both my computer and the apv are on the same network and the apple tv is logged on to itunes and can access and download any content.....btw my pics sync and all other functions work I just cant access any drmed itunes content.

BrianDavid0523
Jul 3, 2008, 11:37 AM
I have this same problem.

I have two episodes of Lost I purchased from iTunes that will no synch to my ATV.

Also, strangely enough, I recenctly purchased an album from iTunes that will no synch, when everything else in my music library synch's just fine.

It's got me.

Donz0r
Jul 3, 2008, 12:53 PM
I have this same problem.

I have two episodes of Lost I purchased from iTunes that will no synch to my ATV.

Also, strangely enough, I recenctly purchased an album from iTunes that will no synch, when everything else in my music library synch's just fine.

It's got me.

Try Deauthorizing then Reauthorizing your computer iTunes. The option is in one of the top drop down menus. If that doesn't work (it should) try de/reauthorizing the iTunes account on your ATV.

BrianDavid0523
Jul 3, 2008, 04:03 PM
Try Deauthorizing then Reauthorizing your computer iTunes. The option is in one of the top drop down menus. If that doesn't work (it should) try de/reauthorizing the iTunes account on your ATV.

Thanks - I will give that a try tonight when I get home!

Donz0r
Jul 3, 2008, 04:19 PM
Thanks - I will give that a try tonight when I get home!

no problem,
by the way it might not work immediately
idk what I did exactly that made mine work (i was having the Exact same problem for like a week) but all of the sudden it was working, and I had done the de/reauthorize on both devices within the past hour.