PDA

View Full Version : handbrake from pc - choppy 5.1 audio?




plaidhippo
Jun 5, 2008, 12:55 AM
Hi,
I tried the latest version of handbrake on my pc to create a 5.1 dvd rip of sweeney todd (after ripping via dvd dcrypter). The movie worked fine in terms of video quality and played on the apple tv with no problems, but the 5.1 audio was very choppy and dropped out a lot. It did play as 5.1, but it just had a lot of drops and pops. I couldn't tell if this was a problem with the receiver, but i've played rented 5.1 content on the apple tv with no problems, and standard dvds on my xbox play fine as well. Has anyone experienced audio dropouts or choppy audio from handbrake 0.92 on the pc? Any help or suggestions would be appreciated!

Thanks
Ashish



NightStorm
Jun 5, 2008, 02:37 PM
Handbrake does not touch the AC3 signal... that is what passthru means.

dynaflash
Jun 5, 2008, 02:48 PM
make sure the sample rate on the ac3 track is set to 48 in the gui, I cannot remember when, but at some point we realized it had to be the same as the input sample rate (which for a dvd is 48) and I do not know if it was fixed for windows in 0.9.2. Or go try the developer snapshot from the handbrake forums, I know its fixed there.