PDA

View Full Version : Adobe file flaw fixed by 10.5.4?


MacBytes
Jun 6, 2008, 03:46 AM
http://www.macbytes.com/images/bytessig.gif (http://www.macbytes.com)

Category: Mac OS X
Link: Adobe file flaw fixed by 10.5.4? (http://www.macbytes.com/link.php?sid=20080606044631)
Description:: none

Posted on MacBytes.com (http://www.macbytes.com)
Approved by arn

RandomTox
Jun 6, 2008, 05:19 AM
I am surprised this was not fixed during the beat testing cycle. Is anybody at Adobe is actually participating in beta testing???

http://www.macbytes.com/images/bytessig.gif (http://www.macbytes.com)

Category: Mac OS X
Link: Adobe file flaw fixed by 10.5.4? (http://www.macbytes.com/link.php?sid=20080606044631)
Description:: none

Posted on MacBytes.com (http://www.macbytes.com)
Approved by arn

winmacguy
Jun 6, 2008, 01:06 PM
I am surprised this was not fixed during the beat testing cycle. Is anybody at Adobe is actually participating in beta testing???

Guess not.

rhett7660
Jun 6, 2008, 01:36 PM
Makes you wonder when 10.5.4 will be released. This is a pretty big issue.

gerardrj
Jun 6, 2008, 07:16 PM
Makes you wonder when 10.5.4 will be released. This is a pretty big issue.

Really, its not a huge issue as I understand it. You have to have a file server and be working from the files on the server.
Working directly from a server is something that Adobe advises against in all their literature on the subject. You should copy work files to a local volume edit then commit the changes to the server.

There are, of course, work-arounds. If the bug is in fact related to AppleShare calls as Adobe claims, then using NFS or SMB instead would eliminate the issue and only takes a few clicks on the OS X server software and a re-linking on the desktop(s).

nagromme
Jun 8, 2008, 11:02 AM
I work off a server a lot: it's a great solution, for instance, when all my projects are on my desktop Mac, yet I want to easily and effortlessly ALSO be able to work from my Air, anywhere in my home at any time. And never have multiple versions of a project out of sync (nor have to copy ALL of the project's massive associated files). This has always worked great, and luckily I did NOT learn about this bug the hard way! I have not jumped to 10.5.3 yet. But I will appreciate a fix when it comes.