PDA

View Full Version : Help -Noob exercise - App to count characters in a text field (hillegasse) - crashes

I'm a Mac
Jun 16, 2008, 05:45 PM
I am a programming noob, so please excuse my lack of experience. Hillegasse's challenge was to create an application that will count the amount of characters in a text field. But mine crashes- I can't really understand what's on the debugger (it just says that GNU has no warranty so here is my code (garbage collection is on)

AppController.h

#import <Cocoa/Cocoa.h>

@interface AppController : NSObject
{
IBOutlet NSTextField *input;
IBOutlet NSTextField *output;
}
-(IBAction)countIt:(id) sender;
@end

AppContoller.m

#import "AppController.h"

@implementation AppController

-(IBAction)countIt:(id)sender
{
NSString *string1 = [input stringValue];
NSString *string2 = [string1 length];

[output setStringValue:(@"%@", string2)];
}
@end

Attatched is the interface- or at least how I created it in Interface builder. I control dragged from the button to the AppController object, and then command-clicking the AppController objects, I connected it to the two textfields.

Thank you so much for your help.

Gelfin
Jun 16, 2008, 05:51 PM
The result of NSString's length method is not an NSString*.

gnasher729
Jun 16, 2008, 06:13 PM

{
NSString *string2 = [string1 length];

[output setStringValue:(@"%@", string2)];
}
@end

The argument in the setStringValue call is most likely not what you think it is. Something like (x, y) is a "comma-expression": When you have two expressions, separated by comma, the first expression is evaluated, the result thrown away, then the second expression is evaluated and that is the value that is used. I suppose there is a "stringWithFormat" missing somewhere.

I'm a Mac
Jun 16, 2008, 06:33 PM
so what do I do to fix it

laprej
Jun 16, 2008, 07:21 PM
bar = [str length];

nstr = [NSString stringWithFormat:@"%@ has %d letters.", str, bar];

bar is an int, nstr is an NSString*.

Good luck.

HawaiiMacAddict