PDA

View Full Version : Application vs workflow issue




thriftinkid
Jun 17, 2008, 12:04 PM
Hey guys quick question,

I made a workflow in automator using both automator actions and applescript. It runs perfectly when I run it as a workflow within automator. But when I save it as an application and run it separately, it gets sketchy. It will get to different random points in the script stop running. The problem is no error pops up, and there is no specific one place it stops running at, so I don't know why it would do this. Any ideas?



HiRez
Jun 17, 2008, 12:39 PM
I can't give you a specific answer, but I've had many problems with Automator and AppleScript "flakiness", so much so that it's kind of a last resort now (I'll use Photoshop actions or write a Cocoa app instead if I can). Including infuriating random stops, and Folder Actions are useless. In Leopard they seem even more broken than they were in Tiger. It's pretty sad. Great technology in concept with so much potential, but poorly executed in some critical spots (stability, mostly).

thriftinkid
Jun 17, 2008, 01:55 PM
I can't give you a specific answer, but I've had many problems with Automator and AppleScript "flakiness", so much so that it's kind of a last resort now (I'll use Photoshop actions or write a Cocoa app instead if I can). Including infuriating random stops, and Folder Actions are useless. In Leopard they seem even more broken than they were in Tiger. It's pretty sad. Great technology in concept with so much potential, but poorly executed in some critical spots (stability, mostly).

I seem to be able to work around the issue if I save it as a finder plugin. Is there a simple applescript I could write to activate the plugin. I'm assuming it would be something like the following but Im doubt this is right:

tell application "finder" to run file "myplugin"