PDA

View Full Version : Really low PowerMac G5 Quad Geekbench score, what gives?




rednaz
Jun 20, 2008, 03:36 AM
My lovely Power Mac G5 Quad 2.5 GHz has done me proud over the last few years and I wanted to see how it was comparing to all these new intel macs using Geekbench.

I was surprised to see that I scored an insulting 1663 while, I think, everyone else was in the 3000's or more. What's going wrong? I have 7gb RAM and quit as many apps as possible, can I do any more?

Here's my link: http://browse.geekbench.ca/geekbench2/view/64558

Does anyone have an tips for me? is my mac just too old? help me increase it's score?

Cheers guys



bart rijksen
Jun 20, 2008, 03:51 AM
My lovely Power Mac G5 Quad 2.5 GHz has done me proud over the last few years and I wanted to see how it was comparing to all these new intel macs using Geekbench.

I was surprised to see that I scored an insulting 1663 while, I think, everyone else was in the 3000's or more. What's going wrong? I have 7gb RAM and quit as many apps as possible, can I do any more?

Here's my link: http://browse.geekbench.ca/geekbench2/view/64558

Does anyone have an tips for me? is my mac just too old? help me increase it's score?

Cheers guys

Restart it, and don't run any apps except for geekbench.

rednaz
Jun 20, 2008, 05:27 AM
Hey bart,

I just created a new, blank user (all apps quitted and nothing running in background) and tried it again on that to no avail,here's my result: http://browse.geekbench.ca/geekbench2/view/64976

Edit: You can also compare my results with the other Power Mac G5 Quad 2.5GHz's here: http://browse.geekbench.ca/geekbench2/performance/64976/4
My results are all the bottom ones on the far right hand column, this is most disconcerting.

It turns out that it's my lowest score yet, what do think the problem could be?

I have the processor prefpane and it shows all four processors going through the motions when the tests are being done... Is this a major problem or something a fresh Leopard install could fix? I'm hoping not, but this may be the answer.

Might I have not been using my mac to it's full potential?

rednaz
Jun 20, 2008, 11:38 AM
I heard that it could be a RAM problem, so I've just done a Rember RAM test, here are the results:

Memtest version 4.2 (64-bit)
Copyright (C) 2004 Charles Cazabon
Copyright (C) 2004, 2005, 2006 Tony Scaminaci (Macintosh ports)
Licensed under the GNU General Public License version 2 only

Mac OS X 10.5.3 (9D34) running in single user mode
Memory Page Size: 4096
System has 4 PPC processor(s) with Altivec
Requested memory: 4241MB (4447932416 bytes)
Available memory: 4241MB (4447932416 bytes)
NOTE: Memory request is too large, reducing to acceptable value...
Allocated memory: 4123MB (4323390272 bytes) at local address 0x0000000001000000
Attempting memory lock... WARNING: Testing with unlocked memory may be slower and less reliable

ERROR: Memory lock failed - reason unknown.

Partitioning memory into 2 comparison buffers...
Buffer A: 2061MB (2161695136 bytes) starts at local address 0x0000000001000000
Buffer B: 2061MB (2161695136 bytes) starts at local address 0x0000000081d8d9a0

Running 1 test sequence... (CTRL-C to quit)

Test sequence 1 of 1:

Running tests on full 4123MB region...
Stuck Address : setting 1 of 16ok
Linear PRN : setting 1 of 16ok
Running comparison tests using 2061MB buffers...
Random Value : \ ok
Compare XOR :  ok
Compare SUB :  ok
Compare MUL :  ok
Compare DIV :  ok
Compare OR :  ok
Compare AND :  ok
Sequential Increment:  ok
Solid Bits : setting 1 of 64ok
Block Sequential : setting 1 of 256ok
Checkerboard : setting 1 of 64ok
Bit Spread : setting 1 of 128ok
Bit Flip : setting 1 of 512ok
Walking Ones : setting 1 of 128ok

All tests passed! Execution time: 9621 seconds.


It certainly took a while and there's also an error in there, could a memory stick not be inserted correctly?