PDA

View Full Version : g4 dvi to hdmi




cave12man
Jun 23, 2008, 01:28 PM
trying to connect my g4 to my new 50" plasma via dvi to hdmi and wanted to know if anyone has had any trouble doing so. will a standard dvi to hdmi cable work? should i worry about resolution or killing my video card? thanks



slughead
Jun 24, 2008, 01:23 AM
Resolution will not kill anything. It's all safe AFAIK (I have my mac hooked to a LCD TV)

A regular HDMI to DVI will work.

The only problem you might have is with some cropping of the edges, but there are some 3rd party utilities that can fix that.. on mine, I just plugged it in and it was perfect.

Lord Zedd
Jun 24, 2008, 02:50 AM
HDMI is just DVI with more pins, there is no reason it could harm anything.

revenuee
Jun 24, 2008, 02:55 AM
HDMI is just DVI with more pins, there is no reason it could harm anything.

it combines the audio and video into one cord right?

Lord Zedd
Jun 24, 2008, 03:25 AM
In separate pins.

cave12man
Jun 25, 2008, 08:56 AM
great ill give it a try...thanks for the replies guys

jwt
Jun 26, 2008, 11:33 PM
Anyone know how to get the audio too?

velocityg4
Jun 27, 2008, 12:16 PM
Does your G4 have DVI or ADC? You may need to make that adaption first.

Anyone know how to get the audio too?
Most HD TV have analogue RCA jacks as an alternative audio source to use with HDMI. Check your manual as to which RCA jacks go to which HDMI connectors.

Then get one of these to go from the mini-jack to RCA.http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16882123077