PDA

View Full Version : How to buid a multi-window cocoa project

youngplayer
Jun 25, 2008, 08:49 PM
I'm a beginner of Cocoa. And I've read 'Learning Cocoa with objective-c', which only introduces single window programming. In practice, I need to implement multi-window project, but I haven't found such introduction in the books on hand.
Pls tell me how to do, or what book I should refer. Thanks!

liptonlover
Jun 25, 2008, 09:02 PM
I'm not quite sure what you mean. If you mean something like safari where you can open as many windows as you want, you need to create a document based application. If you just want more windows in your application, then just drag more windows out in IB.

youngplayer
Jun 25, 2008, 09:24 PM
I'm not quite sure what you mean. If you mean something like safari where you can open as many windows as you want, you need to create a document based application. If you just want more windows in your application, then just drag more windows out in IB.

I just want to more windows displayed as they should display, which may NOT display at beginning. For example, develop a main window as a client, which including some operation buttons. And when press one of these buttons, a sub window comes out to deal with input, or something else.

HiRez
Jun 25, 2008, 09:43 PM
Just add additional windows to the main nib, set Hidden, and an action to the button that calls a mehod in your app controller. In that method you unhide the widow and call makeKeyAndOrderFront: on it (you'll need an outlet connected to the window in IB). If you window is complex you might consider putting it in its own nib.

youngplayer
Jun 25, 2008, 10:26 PM
Just add additional windows to the main nib, set Hidden, and an action to the button that calls a mehod in your app controller. In that method you unhide the widow and call makeKeyAndOrderFront: on it (you'll need an outlet connected to the window in IB). If you window is complex you might consider putting it in its own nib.