Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Smighty24

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 23, 2008
Hey everyone in the forum world. I'm brand new to the MacRumors Forum community. I know that this has been talked about so many times but i would like to ask for everyone's opinions. I am looking to purchase a macbook in the next few months to replace my horrible 4 year old dell. I have experience with mac's and with apple but this would be my first mac laptop. The thing is, i want to get the macbook with my student discount and during the back to school promo. But i'm wonding if i should wait till they update the macbook before i buy the computer. I'm not the kinda person who has to have the best tech stuff or anything but if there is an update in the next few months i would rather wait just because it's so close. What does everyone think/feel about this? Do you think that they will update during the back to school promo??? Or close after it??? The more and more i wait the more and more i want a new computer and a mac at that but i don't mind waiting. Please help me out. Thanks!

canucks-17

macrumors regular
Jan 8, 2008
Macbook hasn't been updated in a couple of months but the back to school promo is, I believe an iPod Touch. I'd definitely take that on top of the student discount and IMO selling the Touch. That's a lot of money saved. I got a 2.2 SR Macbook and it is plenty fast. I still try to not think about how fast the 2.4's now are when I sleep but it's great. Also if you do get a MB, upgrade the RAM to 2GB. Huge diff.

winninganthem

macrumors 6502a
Jun 10, 2008
Wait until you absolutely must have a laptop to work with to buy one. This will give you time to save a little more money, and also see if Apple makes any new announcements between now and the start of fall semester.