PDA

View Full Version : Rackmount Specs Leaked?


arn
May 14, 2002, 09:12 AM
JoeK provides us with this MacNytt.com link (http://www.macnytt.com/news/index.lasso?news_id=4366&part=shownews.inc) which claims to have Apple rackmount specs, codenamed High Fidelity:

* 1U racklåda
* 2x G4/1 GHz (kan vara av nyare typ än dagens)
* 2 GB DDR RAM
* 2x 64-bitars PCI-platser
* 2x Gigabit Ethernet
* 4x hotswapbara UltraATA100 120 GB hårddiskar
* USB
* 800 Mbps FireWire
* Console-port
* VGA-port

Only hours left to see....

Ensign Paris
May 14, 2002, 09:29 AM
I hope they are more powerful, although I doubt it, they look right for me, apart from the Firewire thing, but not long now!

Ensign

drastik
May 14, 2002, 09:31 AM
Now I want one, and I have no use for a server.

But that 2 Gigs of DDR...MMMMMMMM!

Maybe aI can justify using it to file serve my little home network, but they say 10.2 is going to handle all of that I need.

Would it be overkill to have one? I wonder what the video options will be. If the card is fixed to the mobo, I really don't need it, but it sound so much cooler than my piece.

Arrgh!:D

Ensign Paris
May 14, 2002, 09:31 AM
Here is a counter from timeanddate.com:

http://timeanddate.com/counters/customcounter.html?day=14&month=5&year=2002&hour=17&min=00

Ensign

jobu
May 14, 2002, 09:32 AM
Seems a bit unlikely. How would you fit 4 drives in a 1U case unless they were 2.5" drives (those are not UATA-100 compatible though). Wait for the announcement.....

Compufix
May 14, 2002, 09:33 AM
This needs to have more than the above to be successful, it needs hot swappable plus spare Ultrawide SCSI drives, more than 2x1gig G4.....that is nothing more than the current server has. DDR memory of course and a fster system bus...

It should have an external cage for drives available...these are all standard things available from Compaq and Dell for their servers...

a 1u server for basic stuff is nice, but if I am going to lay out some cash, I need an option up to par with the big boys...

Would also be nice if they got together with Oracle, and a back up vendor (hopefully Veritas in my case :rolleyes: ) to package some software with it....This box being able to run Oracle Database with a decent back up option, would be a home run or the Enterprise market.

Also a server needs nothing more than an ATI basic chip on the MOBO...and a built in speaker for beeping 8-)....

The rumors of a front mount LCD display is nice (like my Compaq Proliant servers have) for instant CPU, Memory and IP info...

Ahhh well....10.2 server would be nice too :D

Sayer
May 14, 2002, 09:35 AM
The photo shown at WWDC looks more like 2U at least.

Theres just no way they'd fit 2 PCI slots (horizontally) and 4 HDs in a 1U. This *is* Apple we are talking about.

I am saying 2U based on specs and the photo not 3U or 4U or even 1U due to the limited space for the alleged specs and alleged photo.

aggemam
May 14, 2002, 09:37 AM
1U rack-mounting

* 2x G4/1 GHz (might be of newer type than those of today)
* 2 GB DDR RAM
* 2x 64-bit PCI slots
* 2x Gigabit Ethernet
* 4x hotswappable UltraATA100 120 GB hard drives
* USB
* 800 Mbps FireWire
* Console port
* VGA port

Classic
May 14, 2002, 09:42 AM
The Firewire 2 sounds pretty cool.

Backtothemac
May 14, 2002, 09:42 AM
WTF!!! Why would someone think that they need more than this to succeed? Man, these are some awesome specs, and would be a great beggining for Apple in the Rack Mount Market. Holly Crap, what if they put the same board and specs into a Tower Server as well today? That would set the stage for MWNY would it not?

Rower_CPU
May 14, 2002, 09:42 AM
I'll try to get some info from the Apple rep I'm getting OS X training from this morning. He's into the server stuff, so he might know...but will he be willing to tell me?

zed
May 14, 2002, 09:45 AM
How much would something like this costs? Has much better specs than the top of the line Powermac... will the price reflect this? seems like this could end up being a really expensive peice of equipment.

jelloshotsrule
May 14, 2002, 09:46 AM
i don't think they need more than this to succeed. if they're making a real rack mount unit then that alone will probably sell them. the key is that it will run os x. no one necessarily expected it to blow away the specs of the competition, as much as be a real competition, but with the apple name on it...

arn
May 14, 2002, 09:47 AM
Originally posted by zed
How much would something like this costs? Has much better specs than the top of the line Powermac... will the price reflect this? seems like this could end up being a really expensive peice of equipment.

probably... plus $999 for Mac OS X Server

arn

Backtothemac
May 14, 2002, 09:49 AM
Originally posted by arn


probably... plus $999 for Mac OS X Server

arn

Man, you have been on a roll lately.....

I think that it would run somewhere int the 2,000 - 3,000 dollar range, but that means it will be somewhere around 4 or 5 k. Just a guess. About 10 minutes to gooo......:p

Hey Arn, do you think we will set any records here today?

Hemingray
May 14, 2002, 09:49 AM
How did I know they wouldn't have any better processors in there...

...but the 2 gigs of DDR sounds very nice.

(Oh wait, this is still a rumor... :D )

bols
May 14, 2002, 09:51 AM
can you tell me, what you need firewire for on a rackbased server? I have no idea.

nero007
May 14, 2002, 09:55 AM
Originally posted by Backtothemac
About 10 minutes to gooo......:p


Doesn't this start at 9am? If so, you still have an hour and 3 minutes to wait.

Compufix
May 14, 2002, 09:58 AM
Originally posted by jelloshotsrule
i don't think they need more than this to succeed. if they're making a real rack mount unit then that alone will probably sell them. the key is that it will run os x. no one necessarily expected it to blow away the specs of the competition, as much as be a real competition, but with the apple name on it...

As a basic server, yes the quotes are great, and just the fact that I do not need to rack my nuckles getting the guts of a G4 into a Marathon rack is great.. (I wonder what this will do to THAT market 8-)..)

However Apple NEEDS a robust server to at LEAST be able to stand toe to toe with the mid line Compaq and Dell servers used in educational facilities and Government...as well as Enterprise.

I already have 4 Marathon racked servers...and they do their job, but if I want to start spreading out my servers to handle 10 buildings, thousands of users, integrated into our AD Windows network, and in our racks...it better be mid-high end, be fault tolerant across the board, AND have additional server software to integrate into AD and some other Enterprise software, and I am a customer willing to pay the bucks for it...

Our Compaq and Dell boxes aint cheap either...but you do not see my buying a rack conversion kit for our high end Dell workstation just because it has some of the specs of a server in it.

Only time will tell, for one, I am excited.....it's about time....

Ensign Paris
May 14, 2002, 09:58 AM
This is how long is to go:

http://timeanddate.com/counters/customcounter.html?day=14&month=5&year=2002&hour=16&min=00

Ensign

Backtothemac
May 14, 2002, 09:59 AM
Originally posted by nero007



Doesn't this start at 9am? If so, you still have an hour and 3 minutes to wait.

Aw, Barnacles! Man, I hate time zones! ;)

nero007
May 14, 2002, 10:09 AM
I know this has been asked but I haven't seen the answer yet. Does anyone know if this event will be covered live?

voicegy
May 14, 2002, 10:10 AM
Originally posted by Rower_CPU
I'll try to get some info from the Apple rep I'm getting OS X training from this morning. He's into the server stuff, so he might know...but will he be willing to tell me?

Not if he's the same guy that I know...he likes keeping things under his hat...

His first name wouldn't happen to start with the letter "J" would it? ;)

arn
May 14, 2002, 10:10 AM
Originally posted by nero007
I know this has been asked but I haven't seen the answer yet. Does anyone know if this event will be covered live?

there is no broadcast... so information might not become available until after the event... (3pm EST)

arn

MacHack
May 14, 2002, 10:15 AM
Did anyone see the cluster mentioned at the bottom of the article. I don't sprechen the language, but it looked like a wicked fast cluster was mentioned.

Detta är den första 1 U höga PowerPC-baserade rackservern med dubbla processorer. 42 stycken sådana passar i ett standardrack vilket ger en ganska stor prestanda ifall de klustras, ca 600 GigaFLOPS.

I agree that some of the specs are incorrect in the article, but this one is interesting. Might we see a cluster demo today??? I say yep!

Ensign Paris
May 14, 2002, 10:15 AM
try looking at macosrumors near the bottom they claim to have 'up to the minute' coverage of server developments.

I doubt this is will mean during the keynote but I assume it means very soon after it.

Ensign

Compufix
May 14, 2002, 10:16 AM
Originally posted by bols
can you tell me, what you need firewire for on a rackbased server? I have no idea.

Possible connection to external drive cage for RAID, also there are some DVD/CD Juke Boxes out there that use Firewire, support for existing FireWire Raid products...and some other stuff......Not to mention, for me , to easily be able to walk up with a firewire drive, copy some file over and walk away....

That last one is a personal thing, since I run the servers...but can also be a security risk in general....

3xtrmn8r
May 14, 2002, 10:35 AM
Ahh yes, MacOSRumors claim that they will have up to the minute coverage. Doubt it. This is the same site the states "more to follow tomorrow", then doesn't update their page for two weeks!

Maybe macminute.com will be one the first to braek the news, they're usually preety good (hence the URL).

Rower_CPU
May 14, 2002, 10:38 AM
Originally posted by voicegy
Not if he's the same guy that I know...he likes keeping things under his hat...

His first name wouldn't happen to start with the letter "J" would it? ;)

Nope, someone else...and he's late, so it looks like I'll have to wait until 9 like the rest of you...:(

Mr. Anderson
May 14, 2002, 10:45 AM
With these great new specs, I wonder what they're going to do with the 'old' desktop version of the Server? They still need to keep it around because not everyone has a need for a rack. But if they update it, then its any easy flip to see the proline being updated as well.

Soon we'll know. I had to get my 2¢ before the event, I was at the dentist for 2 hours. No fun there.

arn
May 14, 2002, 10:46 AM
I still don't know...

It just doesn't seem likely to be a 1U...

arn

3rdpath
May 14, 2002, 11:08 AM
Originally posted by arn
I still don't know...

It just doesn't seem likely to be a 1U...

arn

i can say without a doubt-----there is NO WAY they can cram all of the aforementioned specs in a 1u.

unless apple has figured out a way to change the laws of physics( maybe thats the big surprise...)

arn
May 14, 2002, 11:46 AM
Originally posted by 3rdpath


i can say without a doubt-----there is NO WAY they can cram all of the aforementioned specs in a 1u.

unless apple has figured out a way to change the laws of physics( maybe thats the big surprise...)

heh.... 3rdpath... seems they did change the laws of physics... specs look about right on target.

arn

3rdpath
May 14, 2002, 12:03 PM
Originally posted by arn


heh.... 3rdpath... seems they did change the laws of physics... specs look about right on target.

arn

pretty darn tootin close. looks like its crow for lunch.:D

missed it by one PCI i think( oops , not even), but still.....holy smokes. so what is the unit about 4 feet deep? :D

Wry Cooter
May 14, 2002, 12:08 PM
Originally posted by Sayer
The photo shown at WWDC looks more like 2U at least.

Theres just no way they'd fit 2 PCI slots (horizontally) and 4 HDs in a 1U. This *is* Apple we are talking about.

I am saying 2U based on specs and the photo not 3U or 4U or even 1U due to the limited space for the alleged specs and alleged photo.

It does make you wonder if there is reporter error, or if the server has an expansion unit for storage et al, but I think you just have to lay every thing out on a 19 x 19 inch pizza box. or think notebook if it helps visualize. You would still have some headroom for cooling.

Here is a rough possible ascii layout C is Dual CPU S is slot D is drive, R is Ram so on.

DDSS
DDRC

Picture each unit of space being approximately 5 inches. The PCI cards will have to mount horizontallyThe depth can vary. Where does the power supply go? Behind the drives?

"a CD-ROM and 2 64-bit/66MHz PCI slots", not sure from what is said if one of those PCI slots are dedicated to the ethernet connection or not.