Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Creibold

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 27, 2006
Ok, so I'm new to digital photography, and am on the cusp of making a purchase of a brand new Nikon D-40 (the budget is short these days - to many apple toys) and I would like to know what accessories you all would recommend.

I am leaving the first 2 weeks or so of august on a round trip vacation to Niagara falls, perhaps New York, and on the way back Chicago too. Obviously the budget is limited, so I'm only going to be able squeeze by with the Camera, kit lens, and whatever case/accessories are recommended here.

My reason for asking here, is that, when visiting several camera stores in my area, they don't feel very helpful to me. I feel as if I am simply being recommended what they want to sell to me, and not what I need. I go to one shop and the clerk says one thing, yet the shop 3 blocks down the street says the opposite! :confused: This seems about as newbie friendly an area as hard-core video gaming, but I digress.

Any thoughts, or items that I may find vital to my trip would be very much appreciated. Thank you!:)

Jan 30, 2006
An extra battery is a must. Also, what size of memory card card have you bought?

If you have a laptop it would be ideal to bring it with you. Nonetheless, having an extra memory card is, in my opinion, also a must. Last trip I made (3 days trip) I used 2x4GB cards. Obviously bring a nice backpack or case for your camera. I would guess that backpack is better for trips if you are going to be walking a lot.

Maybe a blower to clean the sensor in case it need it. Tho, do this with precaution, and only if you are in a clean place.

And lastly, maybe it is just me being extra cautious, but having a small external drive for backup would be nice. Even a USB (8 GB) could suffice to at least store the JPEGs.

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California