Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

codycartoon

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 13, 2002
I have $400-$500 to spend on an upgrade for my:

Powermac G4 Quicksilver 867mhz
256MB Memory
60GB Main HD
80GB Film HD
15inch Apple Studio LCD

I am a filmmaker and use Final Cut Pro 3 sometimes daily, I am running out of space on my Hard Drive and am felling cramped on my 15inch LCD.

It is possible that I may be editing a feature film in the future, and I am shooting a 20-minute short now, which has already accumulated 80 minutes of footage.

What would you buy with the $400 - $500 budget? Remember it will be from Santa Clause himself so take it easy, there are other children.

If your interested in my flicks, Here are some links:
Matinee: http://www.electronicscene.com/m1/35/34/media/8927.mov
Judy: http://www.uwm.edu/~celarkee/judy.mov
Pop: http://www.uwm.edu/~celarkee/codybrown.mov

Thanks a bunch
-cody

jrv3034

macrumors 6502a
Oct 23, 2002
Well, it's always nice to have a larger monitor for editing video, but it's not necessary. Hard Disk space, however, is essential. Right now you can buy a 250GB LaCie firewire hard disk for $289.

Ask yourself if you really need an LCD monitor. If the answer is no, the sell your 15" Studio Display on eBay (you should get at least $250 for it) and with what you have left over get a nice 21" CRT for around $450-500. Or, if you really want LCD, there's some nice 17" ones (NEC I think) for around that price.

Hard Disk space is your #1 priority. Then, sell your monitor and get a better one.

codycartoon

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 13, 2002
Well, it's always nice to have a larger monitor for editing video, but it's not necessary. Hard Disk space, however, is essential. Right now you can buy a 250GB LaCie firewire hard disk for $289.