PDA

View Full Version : Do I have to reencode already encoded files always?




neccoloup
Jul 6, 2008, 11:58 AM
I have for instance a few pre-AppleTV files encoded in x264 complete with 5.1 audio, etc. Do I HAVE to reencode/recompress these just to be able to copy them into itunes to watch on my appletv? It seems so totally unneccessary to have to mess with my files again and degrade the quality a second time.

If I can't just rename them something that itunes will except, is there a setting in visualhub or handbreak that tries to do a 1 for 1 "just make this compatible for itunes" conversion?



solidgoldmini
Jul 9, 2008, 01:59 PM
http://wiki.awkwardtv.org/wiki/How_to_get_iTunes_to_sync_other_video_formats_to_Apple_TV

I use a droplet that fools the AppleTV into thinking it's something it can play by basically adding a second of blank H.264 video to the original movie. It works for non-AppleTV formats like DivX, but it would probably work for you. And it's not really converting, so it's lossless and quick.

Look at the page above and toward the bottom you can download it, 'Apple TV Fooler.'

marklight
Jul 9, 2008, 02:13 PM
I have for instance a few pre-AppleTV files encoded in x264 complete with 5.1 audio, etc. Do I HAVE to reencode/recompress these just to be able to copy them into itunes to watch on my appletv? It seems so totally unneccessary to have to mess with my files again and degrade the quality a second time.

If I can't just rename them something that itunes will except, is there a setting in visualhub or handbreak that tries to do a 1 for 1 "just make this compatible for itunes" conversion?

i think you should be a bit more specific as to what files you're dealing with. I mean if those files meet the apple tv specs then you don't need to do any more encoding. If anything you'll just have to put the vid and audio streams into another container format.

tom1971
Jul 9, 2008, 03:32 PM
To avoid any kind of re-encoding. You could simply patch your ATV.
This would also give you the support of additional file formats.

dynaflash
Jul 9, 2008, 03:39 PM
To avoid any kind of re-encoding. You could simply patch your ATV.
This would also give you the support of additional file formats.

Here we are again tom1971 ;)

To the OP: Or you could just use the AppleTV preset in HandBrake for dvd's and be done with it. Along with allowing you to use the stock atv interface and not risk breaking your atv when Cupertino tosses out a software update.