PDA

View Full Version : Halo's requirements, not required!


MacBytes
Dec 15, 2003, 04:22 PM
Category: Games
Link: Halo's requirements, not required! (http://www.macbytes.com/link.php?sid=20031215172244)

Posted on MacBytes.com (http://www.macbytes.com)

Approved by Mudbug

Nermal
Dec 15, 2003, 04:36 PM
Shame I don't still have a G3 to test it on. Only sold it 2 weeks ago! Oh well, it runs flawlessly on my G4 so I'm happy :)

Bunzi2k4
Dec 15, 2003, 04:42 PM
0_0 ok i'm not afraid of gettin it for my pb now... once i get the money i'll buy halo

dracoleb
Dec 15, 2003, 06:34 PM
:D :D :D Now how about those poor PC gamers that have a hardly playable Halo on a maxed out gaming rig. Who says Macs aren't for gaming:D :D :D

Nermal
Dec 15, 2003, 06:52 PM
Yeah, my cousin had a 2.4 GHz Athlon, and he complained that Halo was unplayable on it. But Halo runs flawlessly on my 1.25 GHz G4. Anyway, he now has an eMac :)

smegdude
Dec 15, 2003, 07:48 PM
i wasn't going to get halo until i upgraded my computer as i have the exact minimum requirements but if these reports are true, i'm definately going to get it. and some more ram just in case :D

Frohickey
Dec 15, 2003, 07:49 PM
I wonder how Halo runs on my Powerbook 180? ;)

the_mole1314
Dec 15, 2003, 08:09 PM
Originally posted by Frohickey
I wonder how Halo runs on my Powerbook 180? ;)

Imagine playing Halo on a Pismo.... spooky...

mac15
Dec 15, 2003, 08:17 PM
unplayable on a 2.4ghz athlon, that blows. I'm rocking out on a 700mhz G4 iMac :)

nagromme
Dec 15, 2003, 09:45 PM
Performance reports vary widely! (On PC and Mac both.)

I think it's a combination of quirks bugs that slow things down with certain specific setups, together with certain settings that people have different, making an unexpected difference. Plus, some people judge the first scene they see, without much combat, while others apply a tougher test: they wait for an intense battle scene. Best case vs. worst case.

A downloadable demo would sure help me decide!

Gymnut
Dec 15, 2003, 11:14 PM
I'm a little skeptical. I'm not nit picky in terms of frame rates but I guarantee you there'll be some joe schmoe who'll complain like hell about its performance on a G5 while another with the same machine finds it specatcular.

Bunzi2k4
Dec 16, 2003, 01:59 AM
i'm gonna install it on my indigo imac (350 g3) when i get halo, i'll post my results


lol

Vonnie
Dec 16, 2003, 06:23 AM
Is there a demo version available? I wonder if it will run ok on my ibook G3 800 with 384meg ram.

peterjhill
Dec 16, 2003, 06:44 AM
I have played it on both my machines. On my G5 with all the graphic settings on high, it looks incredible, and I have had no problems with the game. On my G4 PB/800 DVI with 1 GB of ram, play is mostly good on the lowest settings, except for heavy battle times when the screen will go black for up to a second (long enough to die). When you have a bunch of enemies and three or four of them are rocking and rolling with the needler (probably the most graphic intensive weapon fire), it really can put a strain on your vid card. I will check to see if I have the game locked at 30 FPS or if it is able to do what it can. I'll see if that makes a difference.

Mord
Dec 16, 2003, 09:56 AM
I'd love to see the original mac version of halo running on a b&w g3 just like it did so flawlessly all those years ago next to another b&w g3 runing the current version (that was ported from mac to xbox to pc and then back to mac) place your bets which one will be faster?