PDA

View Full Version : "AppleMobileDeviceHelper has stopped working"




iPhone3GCrazed
Jul 10, 2008, 07:08 AM
This is the message I get every single time I open iTunes after I downloaded the new 7.7 version. I click cancel on the program, about 7 seconds later, comes back up. Does anyone know what this means, or how to fix it?



Venomelite
Jul 10, 2008, 11:08 AM
I also recieve this error when I tried to upgrade to the newer version of iTunes (7.7). I also uninstalled my previous versions and tried both the 64bit vista and 32bit vista versions and they failed. Any information on this would be useful. Thanks.

iPhone3GCrazed
Jul 10, 2008, 11:26 AM
I'm on phone with Apple Support now and they told me to uninstall and re-install and it's still not working... I don't know. I'll keep you posted on any and all updates I receive.

Venomelite
Jul 10, 2008, 11:32 AM
I actually fixed the problem for me. I had to go into the windows registry "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/SYSTEM/CurrentControlSet/Services"and delete "AppleMobileDevice". Once I did this, I rebooted my machine and went back into services and it was gone. I then tried to re-install itunes and it went through no problem and I no longer got that error and windows installer no longer crashed for me. I hope this works for you, and always be cautious when messing with the registry in windows =). I am also running Windows Vista 64bit Home Premium

iPhone3GCrazed
Jul 10, 2008, 11:57 AM
Yeah, I tried that. See now when I did that the messages stopped, however when I plugged my iPhone into the computer it said it needed that program to sync it...

Venomelite
Jul 10, 2008, 12:06 PM
Thats odd, when I did it, it automatically re-installed the service and ran it without problems with no errors. iTunes and my iPhone are pretty much working now.

iPhone3GCrazed
Jul 10, 2008, 04:25 PM
I feel that through my research today that this is, indeed, a Vista issue. Anyone with information on how to combat this problem please speak up!!!

Wattupwiththis.
Jul 11, 2008, 02:31 PM
Hey I only registered just for this problem only but the down side is that it MIGHT be just PC only soz to mac users.

Anyway this is how you do it go to "itunes.exe" and right click it the click "Run as admin", The downside of this is everytime you open itunes now you HAVE to do that unless you find a way to make it permanant.

Hope this helps for people looking around for a answer.
If anyone has a permanent solution please help us.:)

iPhone3GCrazed
Jul 11, 2008, 05:46 PM
Hey watt, thanks for your help. How do i run as admin? Where is "Run as Admin" sorry, I just don't know where it is! :confused::D

THExG00DxLIFE
Jul 12, 2008, 01:09 AM
Wattupwiththis:
I joined just for this, too. I thank you for your temporary solution to the problem. But where do I find iTunes.exe? I'm very new to Vista so I don't know much about it yet.
Please reply with an answer :)

Wattupwiththis.
Jul 12, 2008, 07:30 AM
Hey Just To Clarify itunes.exe is in "program files" located in your hard drive that you mainly use and just click on the itunes folder it should be called just itunes. (you will eventually find it) If not print screen it and i think you can send me a pic here cant you? Well I dont know.
When you find it you RIGHT CLICK it and click on RUN AS ADMIN. When i found it mine has a sheild next to it. I Hope this helps guys im still looking around to help everyone of you.
PS to help make it easier to use i suggest you create a shortcut for the itunes.exe everytime you use it you have to click run as admin now.
PPS From "sunny" UK:cool:

Drink151
Jul 12, 2008, 09:23 AM
First off thanks for the hint!
In Vista:
ITunes installs to C:\Program Files\ITunes as a default. In that folder you should find the itunes.exe file. Right click on that and do properties at the bottom. In the new window go to the compatibility tab. On the bottom of that tab is run as admin check box. After you okay out just right click the itunes.exe again and copy and paste shortcut on your destop.

Hope this helps.
Drink151

iPhone3GCrazed
Jul 12, 2008, 06:52 PM
Figures. It doesn't work for me... ugh... thanks anyway guys.:mad:

iPhone3GCrazed
Jul 14, 2008, 09:20 PM
WOOT WOOOOOOOOOOT!!! I FINALLY found a fix. Through an accumulated 10 hours on Apple Support lines over the past weekend. One word Vista users: Norton... (ok maybe two) Symantec. From what the man told me, (this was my issue, I can't guarantee it will solve yours) go to Start> All Programs> Accessories> Run. Type in msconfig and click OK. This should make a window pop up that is named System Configuration. Go to Startup Tab. Find services that are named Symantec (Norton). Uncheck it (them) and click OK. Restart computer. This should fix the problem if you have Norton. The issue, as the Apple Guy explained it, was that this program and AppleMobileDeviceHelper were conflicting. If this doesn't fix the problem, I don't know what to tell you. :confused::(

jazztalker
Jul 17, 2008, 09:52 AM
WOOT WOOOOOOOOOOT!!! I FINALLY found a fix. Through an accumulated 10 hours on Apple Support lines over the past weekend. One word Vista users: Norton... (ok maybe two) Symantec. From what the man told me, (this was my issue, I can't guarantee it will solve yours) go to Start> All Programs> Accessories> Run. Type in msconfig and click OK. This should make a window pop up that is named System Configuration. Go to Startup Tab. Find services that are named Symantec (Norton). Uncheck it (them) and click OK. Restart computer. This should fix the problem if you have Norton. The issue, as the Apple Guy explained it, was that this program and AppleMobileDeviceHelper were conflicting. If this doesn't fix the problem, I don't know what to tell you. :confused::(

That worked, THANK YOU!!!!!! I had forgotten to uninstall Norton when I redid my notebook, and this fixed the problem.

tobefirst
Jul 17, 2008, 10:39 AM
Woah! Weird!

I just got off the phone with a friend of mine who was having this same problem, and now I come here and find this thread. The solution I found for him, which he just said worked, I found here:

http://discussions.apple.com/ann.jspa?annID=640

The second solution says to run AppleMobileDeviceHelper as an admin...I'm not sure how that differs from running iTunes as an admin...but might give other people more options should one of the above solutions not work.

iPhone3GCrazed
Jul 17, 2008, 05:16 PM
That seems to do it for a lot of people. Never worked for me though. Glad you got it fixed! :):apple:

deschipper
Jul 19, 2008, 04:44 AM
Ok, that worked;

But what about Norton, It is disabled right now.

You can't possible expect me to enable and restart after every ipod sync