PDA

View Full Version : "No Service" After FINALLY Activating




Earlet9
Jul 11, 2008, 05:27 PM
So, I just got my phone activated... but no I am receiving "No Service" in the corner. Anybody know a fix or anything?



gibbz
Jul 11, 2008, 05:32 PM
Same here. Mine has said "No Service" since 8:30 a.m. I am online with an AT&T representative now. Will update when/if they help.

aditghai
Jul 11, 2008, 05:33 PM
Same Here. Please update when you find out whats going on here.
Thanks

Earlet9
Jul 11, 2008, 05:40 PM
Well, I'm syncing now... if it still doesn't work I will be making my third trip to the AT&T Store today. I'll let ya know what I do to get it working...:mad:

alejovh1
Jul 11, 2008, 05:54 PM
any luck? mine still says no service:(

Earlet9
Jul 11, 2008, 06:02 PM
Still says No Service. I'm going to the AT&T Store right now, I will be back with what I find out. Wish me luck.

oldschooldude
Jul 11, 2008, 06:05 PM
Same Here. Please update when you find out whats going on here.
Thanks

All, I was just told by ATT on-line support that I have to go back to the ATT store I bought from and get a NEW SIM CARD!

UNBELIEVABLE!!!! After waiting in line for 4 1/2 hrs; and not being able to activate phone for another 4 1/2 hours - NOW I NEED TO GET A NEW SIM CARD.

This my first iphone and the whole experience has been JUST AWFUL.

UPDATE: I went back to the ATT store and they were able to reset the SIM and now my iphone works GREAT!

gibbz
Jul 11, 2008, 06:24 PM
My phone now works. I went online to the AT&T chat support. The lady said that the problem was wit their system. My old SIM was still active in their system, so she just killed it and resubmitted my new one. Weak signal, but working nonetheless. Likely due to system strain, launch day issues, etc..

Earlet9
Jul 11, 2008, 06:32 PM
I just got back from AT&T. They did give me a new SIM card, but it seems like the chat support online may be able to help to. It just seemed my original iPhone SIM was still active. Working perfect now!

Sal510
Jul 11, 2008, 07:11 PM
i have the same problem i called in and then they told me my SIM card did not activate properly

aditghai
Jul 11, 2008, 11:14 PM
I went to the AT&T store with the iPhone and my old phone which was still getting coverage. The AT&T rep took the sim out of the old phone and just put it in the new one.

It works great now.

KauaiBruce
Jul 12, 2008, 12:21 AM
I found another thread somewhere this morning that suggested to swap the sim from my old still working iPhone to the new one. I immediately got a signal. I will check with them next week to see if I have to do anything else or swap back to reset them before we activate the old iPhone.

drawds
Jul 12, 2008, 12:37 AM
I'm in the UK, got my iphone through Carphone Warehouse and 14 hours after activating I still have no service. :(
That's on top of the 4 hours trying to activate the stupid thing.

Just says "Searching..." on the top, forever and ever.

Called Carphone Warehouse last night at 7:30 and they said it should start working at 9 or 10 but as of this morning it still isn't.

I've 2 friends who got theirs directly from O2 and they have service just fine.

Now it's 6:40am here and their customer service team only opens at 8.

/kills!

cjwosbon
Jul 12, 2008, 02:21 AM
I am in the UK too and i picked up my iphone about 12 hours ago, and it has been saying no service for about 11 hours I got this direct from Apple.

I think its a waiting game until O2 get their act together as their systems couldnt activate the phones