Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

robins2001

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 20, 2003
Hi all, this is my first post, looks like a great site :)

I am a traning illustrator in my second year. The main programs I use are, Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator, In Design | Macromedia Director | Lightwave & FormZ.

Now at the moment I do most of my work on my Pentium4 PC, but i want to switch to a mac for a few reasons, (im not here to debate which are better :rolleyes: )

My main problem is deciding what to get for now....(In 4 months I am going to work for a major company who use the latest G5 machines fully spec'ed up to the t!ts, and im pretty sure I can order a machine through the company with a discount)

I am thinking about getting a DP 1.25 | 1.42 G4 unit or a 1.6 G5...which would offer better performance for my sort of stuff? I would have thought one of the DP machines just on shear clock spead and brute force?

Sorry for the length of the thred, hope you can offer me some good opinions!

Thanks

mj_1903

macrumors 6502a
Feb 3, 2003
Sydney, Australia
The G4's are faster than the single proc G5's, and that's a fact.

If you wanted performance, grab the Dual 1.8, its not that much more expensive, but it will crush the G4's and single proc G5 anytime.

Then again, MacWorld SanFran is around the corner and new machines are expected then so stay tuned.

Mat

robins2001

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 20, 2003
cheers mat,

i might see if i can pick up a dual 1.42 refurb for now and maybe get a 1740 formac lcd...

how do u think the g4 would feel against my current pentium4 1.6 clocked at 2ghz?

i dont wanna be disapointed when i get it and find out my pc was faster, even though i think this isnt gonna happen ;)

edesignuk

Moderator emeritus
Mar 25, 2002
London, England