PDA

View Full Version : My MobileMe Fix for the iPhone




TJunkers
Jul 14, 2008, 03:37 PM
I was never able to get my contact or calendar until I did the following:

* All Done on iPhone

1.) Erased my curent MobileMe Account
2.) Created a contact, just typed anything for the info
3.) Created my MobileMe account again using all lowercase for my address
4.) Turned contact syncing on (should be off since you created that contact in step 2)
5.) Told it to sync
6.) Went back to my homescreen and clicked on Phone, then Contacts. (Loading icon appeared in my top bar next to AT&T)
7.) Waited about 15 seconds and BOOM contacts and calendar both appeared! (You may have to go to groups in contacts because my contacts wherent there till i told it to show all groups)

As for my computer set up. I have it syncing every hour. and only have bookmarks, calendar, and contacts selected.

------------------------

Hope this helps! It worked for me and I tried everything else to no sucess before this.



The General
Jul 14, 2008, 03:46 PM
After you turn on syncing for Contacts, and you open Contacts on your phone and you're like 0n0z! It's blank! Just hit Groups at the top and then hit All Contacts and you should be good to go. ;)

sjlee
Jul 14, 2008, 06:46 PM
I was never able to get my contact or calendar until I did the following:

* All Done on iPhone

1.) Erased my curent MobileMe Account
2.) Created a contact, just typed anything for the info
3.) Created my MobileMe account again using all lowercase for my address
4.) Turned contact syncing on (should be off since you created that contact in step 2)
5.) Told it to sync
6.) Went back to my homescreen and clicked on Phone, then Contacts. (Loading icon appeared in my top bar next to AT&T)
7.) Waited about 15 seconds and BOOM contacts and calendar both appeared! (You may have to go to groups in contacts because my contacts wherent there till i told it to show all groups)

As for my computer set up. I have it syncing every hour. and only have bookmarks, calendar, and contacts selected.

------------------------

Hope this helps! It worked for me and I tried everything else to no sucess before this.

What do you mean by erasing and creating a MobileMe account? Are you talking about creating a brand new MobileMe account under a different userid, or are you talking about recreating the account under the same id?

Thanks.

ZJKingsley
Jul 14, 2008, 06:47 PM
You Are The Best!!!!!!!!


I Simply Am Speechless And Do Not Know How To Thank You!!!!

This Has Been My Problem For The Past Week

Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You

Z

sgtboy
Jul 14, 2008, 06:57 PM
Maybe i misunderstood but.

you made a contact on your iphone, hit sync and it was on your iphone...:confused:

ZJKingsley
Jul 14, 2008, 07:01 PM
Maybe i misunderstood but.

you made a contact on your iphone, hit sync and it was on your iphone...:confused:
you create a dud contact and add the MME account again, then check the slider that says contacts to sync, the iphone syncs and deletes the dud contact and replaces it with the ones in the cloud

TJunkers
Jul 15, 2008, 01:30 AM
Thank! Glad it worked for someone else cause wow it was driving me crazy and i tested it with push and it works great!

macduke
Jul 15, 2008, 01:37 AM
Thank! Glad it worked for someone else cause wow it was driving me crazy and i tested it with push and it works great!

You, sir, deserve an award. I've been messing with this all night! Thank you!!

This is definitely a bug that Apple needs to fix. Need to send an error report...

terryblyth
Jul 15, 2008, 05:08 AM
Aww, that's a shame, it's still a no-go for me.

Glad it helped some out though! :)

evilyankeefan
Jul 15, 2008, 07:34 AM
This worked for me and my bookmarks and calendars started syncing as well even without doing the "priming" trick as done with contacts.

jliston
Jul 15, 2008, 12:36 PM
Worked for me too. And now email is being pushed to my iphone almost instantly. Brilliant hint: Thanks.

TJunkers
Jul 15, 2008, 04:05 PM
Anytime!

sjlee
Jul 15, 2008, 11:30 PM
No dice for me... I tried it, but didn't fix the problem.

What I noticed is that when it's set to push, the sync activity spinner (the one that shows up next to the wifi/edge icon) never shows up, while it does when I switch to a manual fetch. So, I guess it means that automatic sync is kicking in at all... Sigh.