Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kenichiwat

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 14, 2008
So I'm hearing all these news about a new Macbook coming out in Q3 of 2008 and someone else mentioned in in some thread that it could come out Q4 before the holidays. So what's the deal?! I know they're only rumors, but which one is more reliable?!

You see, I'm a college student and I have to admit I dont have alot of money. =[ I'm a PC user right now, but I'm switching to a Mac for my next laptop since my old laptop died recently. There's a deal going on for a free iPod Touch for college students and a printer rebate. I'm selling those two items to make the price of my new Macbook cheaper since I already have both those things. Well, not the iPod Touch, but I'm content with my G2 Nano.

So I guess here's the thing. Would Apple release their new Macbook with this deal still going on or will they release it as soon as the promotional deal is over?! I believe the deal goes til September 7th or something. If they do release it during the promotional deal, would it be eligible for the iPod rebate?! I know I'm asking alot of questions here, but any help would be appreciated. I guess I'm asking if Apple has ever done anything like this before. I'm pretty new to the whole Mac thing and need your professional oppinion. I wouldnt want to buy a new Macbook to find out that a month later a newer and possibly design is coming out. I would forget about the iPod deal if I could get my hands on the newer version of Macbook!! Still I would love to save some money...

tnisatard

macrumors 6502
Apr 1, 2008
So I'm hearing all these news about a new Macbook coming out in Q3 of 2008 and someone else mentioned in in some thread that it could come out Q4 before the holidays. So what's the deal?! I know they're only rumors, but which one is more reliable?!