Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ebutka

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 25, 2008
Detroit
So I was on my MacBook and all of a sudden the screen gets some weird lines on it and then freezes. I turn it off and turn it back on and I get a black screen and 3 short beeps and it keeps going. Well I called apple and they said it is a hardware issue. I goggled it and found it is a memory issue (maybe). Any help?!!? By the way, I'm studying abroad in Prague and I won't be home for another 3 weeks. I'm going to London tomorrow to take a train to Leeds. There is an Apple store in London so I am going stop by. I hope they can do something for me but I doubt it. I have a warranty back at home from Best Buy, and they do deal with out of the states. So once I get to Leeds or Endinborrow(sp?) in Scotland, I hope that they can help me out.... Help feedback you guys can help me out with?:mad:

NovemberMike

macrumors member
Jul 1, 2008
If this were a PC then I would say 100% that it is a memory issue, although I am not sure on a Mac. The good news if it is memory is that you shouldn't have any other problems and it should take about five minutes to fix.

bart rijksen

macrumors regular
Mar 1, 2008
Open the ram sloths, and reposition the two ram modules. If that doesn't do it, switch them. If that still leads to problems, take one or the other out. If that doesn't fix it, you have a much bigger problem.

how to take out the ram.
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1651

twjj91

macrumors newbie
Jun 17, 2010
I realise this is an old thread but i had a similar problem and read this advice.