Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gbchriste

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 18, 2008
I am a recent PC to iMac switcher and have been loving it. I still have to run Windows for tasks related to my job and have Vista set up in Bootcamp and also have a couple of additonal XP and Vista machines in the house that belong to other users. I am an IT professional and usually don't succumb to "dumb user" mistakes. But this one has me totally baffled and was wondering if other iMac users have experienced what I just went through :confused:

I have a 1GB USB flash drive that I use to transport files between work and home. And although I have an internal network, I sometimes use it to move files between machines in the house. This flash drive was partitioned in to two separate logica drives, both FAT32. So when I plugged it into my iMac, I would get two drive icons on the desktop representing each logical drive. And when I plugged it into a PC, I would get two new drive letters allocated in Windows Explorer. I'm always diligent about properly ejecting or unmounting it before I remove it from a machine.

So this past Saturday morning, I was working on the iMac and created a document that I needed to send to my networked printer using the two-sided print option. I had not tried to duplex print on the iMac before and couldn't seem to find that particular option in the print job properties. Since I was in a hurry, I decided to put the file on to my USB drive and carry it to the Vista machine that the printer is connected to. I plugged in my USB flash drive to the iMac, saved the file on one of the logical drives, then ejected the drive normally. No indication of any trouble at that point.