Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kb1977

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 21, 2008
Hi

Newbie here!:) My friends imac G4 is super slow, it was fine until a few weeks ago but has gone really really slow especially when clicking between applications.

I have no mac experience but am quite handy with PC's so said I'd have a look for her, and so I defragged, deleted trash, restarted, ran virus and spyware detection - the hard drive is about 60% free and I couldn't spot anything that would be causing this, but it really is so slow. She has operating system 10.4.11 - 1.25ghz processor and 256 mb ram, I know I could just add more ram but it was fast enough for her a few weeks ago and she's noticed a considerable drop.

I have captured the activity monitor (attached) and was hoping someone could tell me if there is anything suspicious running here - my friend says she doesn't know what any of this stuff is other than firefox, safari, norton, excel and itunes.

Failing that, are there any good freeware mac programmes I could run to try asnd improve things?

Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• ac monitor.jpg
    ac monitor.jpg
    210 KB · Views: 214

Sly

macrumors 6502
Nov 30, 2003
Airstrip One
Firstly 256Mb ram is not enough for OS X 10.4, adding another 256 will make the world of difference, you've only 11mb free there with nothing running, the CPU is not really working at all. Secondly Norton is notorious for messing up Macs. My advice Reinstall the OS X afresh, add another 256mb ram stick, leave Norton off the computer, you don't need it.

Sly

macrumors 6502
Nov 30, 2003
Airstrip One