PDA

View Full Version : NVidia 280 in Mac Pro?




costabunny
Jul 21, 2008, 02:15 PM
I love my Mac Pro and it kicks butt in all areas, but when I am bootcamped to my Vista drive the 8800GT isnt what I need for gaming.

Has anyone put a 280 in a Mac Pro yet and how/what is it like to do?

I am a quite the hardware guru but Mac tends to do things just that little bit different. I don't want to buy a 280 if It isnt going to work at all.

I am ok to keep the 8800GT and have the other as a second card just for windows gaming if the Mac boot up wont work with it.

Any advice (yes I have googled and cannot find a definitive answer)



Tallest Skil
Jul 21, 2008, 02:17 PM
You won't be able to keep both cards in there at once. There aren't enough ports for external power connectors. If you had an HD 2600 for OS X and the 280 for Windows, that would work, but with an 8800 GT, you'll need to swap cards when you change OS.

benpatient
Jul 21, 2008, 02:34 PM
you're sort-of asking too much, honestly. Most of us playing games on a Mac are overjoyed with the 8800 because it is so much better than what we're used to relative to the equivalent PC market.

I'm actually surprised that we even have that level of card available.

In the past, we would get a generation-equivalent card 2 years after it was released for PCs, usually one with a shorter bus or de-clocked or something similar. And it would cost twice as much, of course.

If you want to run a 280, you're going to need to put in an x2600 for OS X. That might work.

WSU-Architect
Jul 21, 2008, 03:05 PM
I'm curious as to how the 8800Gt is not enough card for you. I have the same Mac-Pro set up as you, and I am playing Crysis at 1900 X 1200 with a custom graphics settings taken from the forums at incrysis.com that is well above the standard "Very High" settings and I get a pretty consistent 30fps. I can't think of anything being more demanding than that.

benpatient
Jul 21, 2008, 03:19 PM
um...sorry dude. That's just not true. no matter what system is behind it, an 8800 GTX will only get "pretty consistent 30fps" at 1024x768 at the "very high" settings.

that's just not true. I really wish it were, but it isn't.

kahine
Jul 21, 2008, 03:22 PM
I'm curious as to how the 8800Gt is not enough card for you. I have the same Mac-Pro set up as you, and I am playing Crysis at 1900 X 1200 with a custom graphics settings taken from the forums at incrysis.com that is well above the standard "Very High" settings and I get a pretty consistent 30fps. I can't think of anything being more demanding than that.

He has a 30" Dell which means running at 2560x1600

I had one of these before going to the Mac Pro and using two 24" monitors instead

I do miss the 2560x1600 res and size for gaming but like the dual 24"s I have also now -

Anyway you NEED an 8800gtx at least and preferrably the 280gtx to push games at 2560x1600 consistently

costabunny
Jul 21, 2008, 03:44 PM
He has a 30" Dell which means running at 2560x1600 *She

Anyways, yes thats my point the 30" is excellent at 2560x1600 and my old PC could handle it (twin 8800GTX's) - and I guess I am just missing the power.

I seem to have trouble with the fact that windows will worl ok with just the 280, but Mac OS won't (surely it has NVidia drivers and such so it should be fine? - unless its a GPU Bios thing...)

anyways maybe Ill have to wait for a 280 MAC version then :( weep

Also I note the problem will be my Dell as its a 3007 and as such has only the one input :( - I am looking at getting the 3008 (so I can run all my devices from the one screen but that maybe a few months away).

Thanks for the intel guys :)

WSU-Architect
Jul 21, 2008, 05:20 PM
um...sorry dude. That's just not true. no matter what system is behind it, an 8800 GTX will only get "pretty consistent 30fps" at 1024x768 at the "very high" settings.

that's just not true. I really wish it were, but it isn't.

No need to apologize, it is true however. People make custom configurations for the graphic settings all the time in the Crysis community. Many of these increase the image quality substantially while actually better optimizing the game code. The settings I use are taken directly from this thread http://www.incrysis.com/forums/viewtopic.php?id=22538 (if cross forum linking is forbidden my apologies) and I do get the frame rates I said, as well a visual quality well above the stock 'Very High" settings, which are optimized extremely poorly. I got around 20 before I just got my 8 gigs of ram from OWC. Its really not that unbelievable. The game can run well on nearly any current system if one takes the time to do the research and find the best way to optimize it.

macz1
Jul 21, 2008, 05:34 PM
Does anybody know what this card does when you boot OS X with the 2600XT? Does the 280 simply shut down or does it happily consume its 100W, fan 100% doing nothing?

I'm interested in installing a PC-GFXcard for bootcamp gaming (I rather tend towards the 4870 though) but i don't want any trouble or unnecessary heat sources when running OSX (What my mac will doing most of its time)

Firefly2002
Jul 21, 2008, 07:11 PM
Why would you even buy a PoS card like that? Get a Radeon 4870 for much cheaper.

kahine
Jul 21, 2008, 08:20 PM
Why would you even buy a PoS card like that? Get a Radeon 4870 for much cheaper.

Again , she is using 2560x1600

The 280gtx beats the 4870 hands down at that resolution

costabunny
Jul 22, 2008, 12:34 AM
Why would you even buy a PoS card like that? Get a Radeon 4870 for much cheaper.

If you havent got something productive to say; Don't say anything - Thank you

Pressure
Jul 22, 2008, 02:02 AM
Again , she is using 2560x1600

The 280gtx beats the 4870 hands down at that resolution

She could also consider a Radeon HD 4870X2 at the same price ;)

Sesshi
Jul 22, 2008, 05:54 PM
If you havent got something productive to say; Don't say anything - Thank you

As others have mentioned there is the power issue. As I understand it the 4870 isn't that much of an improvement on the 8800GT, but it is nevertheless an improvement - and it only takes one power plug. Similarly a Crossfire 3870 setup might give you a marginal improvement.

The 4870X2 will present the same issue as the GTX280 regarding power sockets if you're hanging on to the 8800GT. I'm sure you could hack something but the power draw on that hacked socket will be high for GTX280 or 4870X2.

The FX5600 is an option. It isn't as gaming-good as the price tag suggests, but it would cure your GPU-power issues to a certain extent, while keeping everything neat and tidy inside.

However Apple seems to be extraordinarily clueless when it comes to selling people an FX5600 separately. I was trying to upgrade the 8800GT'd Macs that I have to FX5600's and the rep basically said I would have to buy a new Pro with it in. I couldn't really question it at the time as my jaw was too busy working it's way floorwards for so many reasons (as comparatively not-very-clued-up as my Dell and HP reps are, the Apple one - and in fact many parties I deal with at Apple - really, really takes the cake) but it does actually seem to be the case certainly in the UK, which is just cracked. Incidentally if anyone has suggestions on this matter I'd appreciate it.

Honestly though, I don't really get why so many of you are trying to force the Pro (ha) into something it isn't (let alone forcing the Pro into something it should be as I headached for a while) Why not just pick up an XPS 630 or something on the side?

Pressure
Jul 23, 2008, 05:28 AM
As others have mentioned there is the power issue. As I understand it the 4870 isn't that much of an improvement on the 8800GT, but it is nevertheless an improvement - and it only takes one power plug. Similarly a Crossfire 3870 setup might give you a marginal improvement.


With all due respect, please read some reviews of the Radeon HD 4870. It far surpasses the Geforce 8800 GT in performance and performs better than a Radeon HD 3870X2.

Of course the Geforce 8800 GT is dirt cheap by now.

The Radeon HD 4870 takes two 6-pin power plugs.

zmttoxics
Jul 23, 2008, 05:47 AM
I love my Mac Pro and it kicks butt in all areas, but when I am bootcamped to my Vista drive the 8800GT isnt what I need for gaming.

Has anyone put a 280 in a Mac Pro yet and how/what is it like to do?

I am a quite the hardware guru but Mac tends to do things just that little bit different. I don't want to buy a 280 if It isnt going to work at all.

I am ok to keep the 8800GT and have the other as a second card just for windows gaming if the Mac boot up wont work with it.

Any advice (yes I have googled and cannot find a definitive answer)

Girl alert!!!

Hey, what a pretty mac you have... Wanna hang out some time? lol

I think you should pair the 8800 with a 4850, its the best you can do because of the power constraints (not enough connectors). The 4850 can play Crysis on HIGH on 1680x1050, so I would bet you could get medium quality at that res just fine. 8800s are junk for crysis, ignore what people say - they can only play the game at 1024x768.

Good luck!

Siron
Jul 23, 2008, 06:45 AM
8800s are junk for crysis, ignore what people say - they can only play the game at 1024x768.

Good luck!

That's just no true. I play it at 1600x1200 with all settings on VERY HIGH in Vista 64 (which uses the much more efficient DX10). I am very pleased with the frame rates. Now when I played it in XP Pro (DX9) with settings on HIGH I had to turn the resolution down to 1024x1280 in some graphic intensive sections.

nick9191
Jul 23, 2008, 06:53 AM
Why would you even buy a PoS card like that? Get a Radeon 4870 for much cheaper.

I'm inclined to agree. If you want a few extra FPS for double the price, then get the GTX 280, if you want to save 300 bucks, for a card that performs nearly as well, and still craps all over the 8800GT, then get the 4870. Besides you can crossfire in the Mac Pro, no SLI. Get two 4870's for the same price as a GTX 280 for real gaming performance.

This has been bugging me for a while. Why do people continue to support Nvidia when all they seem to do is create a card that is twice as expensive as its ATI counterpart, and offers a negligible performance increase.

Tallest Skil
Jul 23, 2008, 07:00 AM
8800 GT...1600x1200... ...VERY HIGH... ...Vista 64... I am very pleased with the frame rates.

Does life move at 1 FPS for you? :p

Sesshi
Jul 23, 2008, 07:19 AM
The Radeon HD 4870 takes two 6-pin power plugs.

Oh really? My bad. That's a bummer.

zmttoxics
Jul 23, 2008, 07:27 AM
That's just no true. I play it at 1600x1200 with all settings on VERY HIGH in Vista 64 (which uses the much more efficient DX10). I am very pleased with the frame rates. Now when I played it in XP Pro (DX9) with settings on HIGH I had to turn the resolution down to 1024x1280 in some graphic intensive sections.

I have to say thats impossible. "1024x1280" is backwards, and according to every review on the planet and every person I know with the card, 1600x1200 == MEDIUM at best.

WSU-Architect
Jul 23, 2008, 11:53 AM
I have to say thats impossible. "1024x1280" is backwards, and according to every review on the planet and every person I know with the card, 1600x1200 == MEDIUM at best.

That's garbage. Take some time and research a little in the Crysis community. As I pointed out before, I play at a higher resolution than that using custom settings well beyond the stock 'Very High' and get great (25-30fps) frame rates. It's all a matter of optimizing your system, removing bloat processes, and preferably using custom settings which are designed much more efficiently than those provided stock by Crytek. If I play the game at 'Medium' settings my frame rates are consistently in the 45-50 range. I play the game almost every day. If you do your homework it is not that hard nor unbelievable to get it to run well on an 8800GT.

(I am using 64-bit Vista Business, btw)

kahine
Jul 23, 2008, 12:01 PM
I'm inclined to agree. If you want a few extra FPS for double the price, then get the GTX 280, if you want to save 300 bucks, for a card that performs nearly as well, and still craps all over the 8800GT, then get the 4870. Besides you can crossfire in the Mac Pro, no SLI. Get two 4870's for the same price as a GTX 280 for real gaming performance.

This has been bugging me for a while. Why do people continue to support Nvidia when all they seem to do is create a card that is twice as expensive as its ATI counterpart, and offers a negligible performance increase.

Compeltely incorrect -

It's more than a "few fps" at 2560x1600 - the 4870 alone cannot handle that res in games like AoC and other graphic intensive ones - the 280gtx is the only single card that can push that res with options on high without choking

zmttoxics
Jul 23, 2008, 12:03 PM
Compeltely incorrect -

It's more than a "few fps" at 2560x1600 - the 4870 alone cannot handle that res in games like AoC and other graphic intensive ones - the 280gtx is the only single card that can push that res with options on high without choking

The 4870X2 bests the gx280 in most categories. You should into it.

Also, it comes as a black pcb with a red cooler - very sexy. :D

macz1
Jul 23, 2008, 01:29 PM
Girl alert!!!

I think you should pair the 8800 with a 4850, its the best you can do because of the power constraints (not enough connectors).

Good luck!

Hm, I find this fact quite strange. A 1000W+ PSU like the one in the mac pro should have some more power connectors somewhere. I don't think the power is the problem

zmttoxics
Jul 23, 2008, 01:35 PM
Hm, I find this fact quite strange. A 1000W+ PSU like the one in the mac pro should have some more power connectors somewhere. I don't think the power is the problem

Default configuration has only a couple (I think, someone feel free to correct me here). If you wanna avoid using y splitters and conversion cables - then ya, its not gonna pan out. Just because its got a 1kw powersupply, doesn't mean it has the right cable connectors.

nanofrog
Jul 23, 2008, 01:57 PM
DIY is a possibility, but may not be for everyone. :(
Pre-made cable solutions are certainly the easiest, but yeah, it will likely look bad. :eek:
Cheaper than a new power supply though. :D

Siron
Jul 23, 2008, 02:15 PM
Does life move at 1 FPS for you? :p

I may be old a decrepit :D but no - life moves at around 35-40FPS although I sometimes wish I could slow everyone else down so I could get more kills :D

Siron
Jul 23, 2008, 02:21 PM
That's garbage. Take some time and research a little in the Crysis community. As I pointed out before, I play at a higher resolution than that using custom settings well beyond the stock 'Very High' and get great (25-30fps) frame rates. It's all a matter of optimizing your system, removing bloat processes, and preferably using custom settings which are designed much more efficiently than those provided stock by Crytek. If I play the game at 'Medium' settings my frame rates are consistently in the 45-50 range. I play the game almost every day. If you do your homework it is not that hard nor unbelievable to get it to run well on an 8800GT.

(I am using 64-bit Vista Business, btw)

I too use Vista Business 64 and I totally agree - garbage Why would I lie??? just to boast?? Come one - I'm 63 and don't need to prove anything. I haven't tried the custom settings but I will investigate. Thanks for the link. I'm number dyslexic which is why I got the resolution backwards - yes should have been 1280x1024.

Pressure
Jul 23, 2008, 02:40 PM
Compeltely incorrect -

It's more than a "few fps" at 2560x1600 - the 4870 alone cannot handle that res in games like AoC and other graphic intensive ones - the 280gtx is the only single card that can push that res with options on high without choking

Please stop and consider this.

How many play games at 2560 x 1600? How many do you really think have a 30" monitor?

The Radeon HD 4870 offers excellent performance at the most used resolutions.

nanofrog
Jul 23, 2008, 03:16 PM
Lets just hope ATI releases a Mac compatible version of the HD 4870. :eek: :D
Sooner rather than later! ;)

kahine
Jul 23, 2008, 03:59 PM
Please stop and consider this.

How many play games at 2560 x 1600? How many do you really think have a 30" monitor?

The Radeon HD 4870 offers excellent performance at the most used resolutions.


Please stop and consider to actually read the OP - they have a 30" and will be playing at 2560x1600

Pressure
Jul 24, 2008, 12:34 AM
Please stop and consider to actually read the OP - they have a 30" and will be playing at 2560x1600

I'm sorry, I don't see anywhere in the original post that the person owns a 30" monitor but it appears I should enable signatures ;)

I stand corrected.

I would otherwise still consider the Radeon HD 4870X2 for 2560 x 1600 resolution gaming.

Sesshi
Jul 24, 2008, 06:31 AM
With all due respect, please read some reviews of the Radeon HD 4870. It far surpasses the Geforce 8800 GT in performance and performs better than a Radeon HD 3870X2.

Of course the Geforce 8800 GT is dirt cheap by now.

The Radeon HD 4870 takes two 6-pin power plugs.

Ah... I just figured it out. I was thinking there was something missing and that the only one with two sockets is the twin-slot one... I meant the HD4850. Sorry for the confusion.

NNM
Jul 26, 2008, 02:52 PM
what about NVIDIA Quadro FX 5600 1.5G?

m1stake
Jul 26, 2008, 03:24 PM
The way it handles games is not so hot.

nanofrog
Jul 26, 2008, 03:31 PM
Not to mention the price for a NVIDIA Quadro FX 5600 is beyond steep. :(
Hmm... video card or a new Mac Pro? ;) :p

Sesshi
Jul 26, 2008, 03:36 PM
The way it handles games is not so hot.

But is it? It's not strictly speaking worth it, but if you are determined to twist your Mac Pro into something it isn't yet retain OS X capability of decent 3D display power on a 30", isn't it an option worth considering, especially as it is supposed to be all about 'it just works'? It's not that far away from an 8800GTX, but it does once again represent an improvement on the 8800GT. I've thought about the other options and anything else seems faintly ridiculous as almost a self-hobbling exercise given the Pro's limitations in comparison to my Skulltrails and Precision T7400's.

Umbongo
Jul 26, 2008, 03:37 PM
what about NVIDIA Quadro FX 5600 1.5G?

Similar performance to the 8800GT.

m1stake
Jul 26, 2008, 04:18 PM
The Skulltrail platform is not exactly the smartest thing to build if you're playing games either ;)

iMacmatician
Jul 26, 2008, 04:44 PM
what about NVIDIA Quadro FX 5600 1.5G?Not worth it unless you are into specific workstation applications that take advantage of that card.

Pressure
Jul 26, 2008, 05:24 PM
The Skulltrail platform is not exactly the smartest thing to build if you're playing games either ;)

Funny, it is the highest-end gaming offering from Intel.

m1stake
Jul 26, 2008, 06:54 PM
Funny, it is the highest-end gaming offering from Intel.

Yes and no. While it is undoubtedly the most expensive, it uses FB-DIMMS which do not compare to other performance memory. It really shows that it's a server board with some mild tweaks, and really not a full fledged effort. Tom's Hardware, a reputable technology website if you're not familiar, has this opinion of a review platform provided by Intel.

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/intel-skulltrail-part-3,1770-25.html

The review does NOT mince words. Anandtech, ANOTHER well known, trusted technology site agrees:

http://www.anandtech.com/showdoc.aspx?i=3216&p=16

Make no mistake, the Skulltrail platform is a very powerful platform, but is not the absolute best platform to build a gaming computer on, even if money is not an issue.

chewietobbacca
Jul 26, 2008, 08:40 PM
Skulltrail is more for workstation / processing than gaming. Actual gaming is the X48 or P45 chipset right now. That with a fast dual core is often more than enough for gaming.

Just use the adapter cables for the PCI-E - Apple must've decided that the MacPro wasn't going to need the extra PCI-E cables but thats not a big issue since most GPUs come with the extra PCI-E adapters. The 1kW PSU is more than enough for 3 or even 4 4870's really. And the 4870s will be CF'able in your computer.

Just an FYI but I game at 2560 x 1600 most of the time with an 8800 Ultra but the 4870 is supposed to be even faster so it'll be quite the capable card. Or wait the 2 weeks for the 4870X2 to hit stores...

Sesshi
Jul 27, 2008, 03:57 AM
The Skulltrail platform is not exactly the smartest thing to build if you're playing games either ;)

Early-release reviews are fine, but mine are working well as general-purpose machines - and are definitely an improvement in general-use terms on my previous 680i-based, solid-state-cooled machines. I can also arrange power as I like, and I can run SLI - as I'm doing with the GTX280's - or opt for XFireX 4870X2's down the line. Even on a machine that's directly comparable - the T7400 - I get simpler power arrangements, not to mention a better engineered machine for reliable running in all conditions than the Pro.

Gaming is primarily about GPU's these days as you guys are undoubtedly running into, and I have complete freedom in this respect than trying to make a 5400-based yet compromised, pretty yet badly engineered, and not to mention badly-cooled (and as a consequence, really only a powerful home computer at best rather than a workstation) system into something it isn't and kid myself that "It's a fantastic games machine!"? I don't think it's what Pressure meant by funny, but I think that's pretty funny.

To add insult to injury, even if I wanted to change to a use/card more appropriate for the more prosaic nature that the Pro is suited to, Apple doesn't even know if it can sell me FX5600's to switch from the 8800GT's and ultimately the rep ended up coming back to me saying I had to replace all of my 8800GT'd Pros with FX5600'd ones if I wanted the card in them. I was pretty speechless - and it looks as though this may be something I need to do if they can't tell me otherwise.

m1stake
Jul 27, 2008, 09:32 AM
The X58 will be a better platform for gaming. Intel boards > Nvidia boards, very glad they reached an "agreement".

Digital Fury
Aug 5, 2008, 01:47 AM
What's up with all the "why do you want to do this" off topic crap?

Getting back to the original subject? I never tried this before and I have a current Mac Pro with a 8800GT, but if I put a GTX 280 or a future 4870X2 in the 2nd slot (to use under Boot Camp only), it will not prevent OS X from booting and using the 8800GT normally - correct?

The only issue then is having the proper Molex to PCI-E 6-pin and 8-pin converters to feed the card?

I'm not exactly a newbie, but I would like to do this as cleanly as possible, anybody has documented something on the subject?

nanofrog
Aug 5, 2008, 02:18 AM
Getting back to the original subject? I never tried this before and I have a current Mac Pro with a 8800GT, but if I put a GTX 280 or a future 4870X2 in the 2nd slot (to use under Boot Camp only), it will not prevent OS X from booting and using the 8800GT normally - correct?

Not aware of any problems. :)

The only issue then is having the proper Molex to PCI-E 6-pin and 8-pin converters to feed the card?

6 pin Molex connector (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812887001&Tpk=6%2bpin%2bmolex%2badapter)
8 pin Molex connector (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812887002)
6 pin Molex (http://shop.ati.com/product.asp?sku=3280778) (connects to logic board) saves 2x 4 pin Molex connectors

kahine
Aug 5, 2008, 08:32 AM
The only problem I can forsee is the heat the 280gtx is going to create - I had one on my pc rig and it literally raised the temperature of the room by several degrees just when I put it in -

I had two 120mm fans on the front pulling in air and two on the back pulling it out and it still got very , very hot , the card did that is

It worked fine so was made to run that hot but not sure what its going to do to your Mac Pro unless you have the case side off and fan blowing in or something -

It was like a space heater and just not sure the default fans on the mac pro are going to provide enough cooling for airflow in and out of the case with that monster in there

It was a great card but the sound and heat and finally was something that pushed me away to the Mac Pro - finally wanted to get rid of the windblower and space heater sitting in the bedroom -

nanofrog
Aug 5, 2008, 11:19 PM
Good to know kahine. Thanks.

Have you had any improvements with fan controllers?

Bubba Satori
Aug 6, 2008, 12:10 AM
what about NVIDIA Quadro FX 5600 1.5G?

It's a $2,500 professional video card optimized for professional applications and it's the only step up from the 8800 that Apple allows users to purchase. :rolleyes:

Digital Fury
Aug 6, 2008, 03:32 AM
The only problem I can forsee is the heat the 280gtx is going to create - I had one on my pc rig and it literally raised the temperature of the room by several degrees just when I put it in -

I had two 120mm fans on the front pulling in air and two on the back pulling it out and it still got very , very hot , the card did that is

It worked fine so was made to run that hot but not sure what its going to do to your Mac Pro unless you have the case side off and fan blowing in or something -

It was like a space heater and just not sure the default fans on the mac pro are going to provide enough cooling for airflow in and out of the case with that monster in there

It was a great card but the sound and heat and finally was something that pushed me away to the Mac Pro - finally wanted to get rid of the windblower and space heater sitting in the bedroom -Thanks for the info, I don't mind pushing the fans a bit under OS X using smcFanControl to keep temperatures under 30C, but I don't think there's anything like it for Windows for the Mac Pro(?).

Also when under OS X, will the fans of the card not used by OS X (e.g. GTX 280) be blowing at full speed or will they settle down to a quiet mode, as the card is not really used.

Digital Fury
Aug 6, 2008, 03:34 AM
Not aware of any problems. :)



6 pin Molex connector (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812887001&Tpk=6%2bpin%2bmolex%2badapter)
8 pin Molex connector (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812887002)
6 pin Molex (http://shop.ati.com/product.asp?sku=3280778) (connects to logic board) saves 2x 4 pin Molex connectorsThanks,

I didn't know that the current Mac Pro had this 2nd connector, shame however that only ATi carries this cable.

Is there any other way to get power beside this connector and the free Molex for the 2nd optical drive?

m1stake
Aug 6, 2008, 11:33 AM
Why would you want to keep it at 30C?

Digital Fury
Aug 6, 2008, 01:56 PM
It's currently a nice 21C where I am right now and with a fairly moderate load with CPUs OCed @3010 MHz and it's showing a cool 29C with CPU_MEM @600 rpm, IO @900 (got 4x HDs), EXHAUST @700 and PS @600.

Cool while still being silent, besides 30C is an easy number to remember and monitor.

kahine
Aug 6, 2008, 04:07 PM
It's currently a nice 21C where I am right now and with a fairly moderate load with CPUs OCed @3010 MHz and it's showing a cool 29C with CPU_MEM @600 rpm, IO @900 (got 4x HDs), EXHAUST @700 and PS @600.

Cool while still being silent, besides 30C is an easy number to remember and monitor.

Just to warn you , the 280gtx's commonly run 80 Celcius under load - not under load it idles around 60 - so the potential to keep it that cool overall in your case is going to be hard to do

m1stake
Aug 6, 2008, 04:15 PM
30C seems... Totally inaccurate?

Firefly2002
Aug 6, 2008, 04:51 PM
If you havent got something productive to say; Don't say anything - Thank you

What I said what quite productive, thank you quite kindly; the OP can get a cheaper card that does more. Granted at the 256x16 res, a 4870x2 with 2 GB would be more appropriate, but it's still probably a hair cheaper even after nVidia's plummeting prices (and negative profits).

This has been bugging me for a while. Why do people continue to support Nvidia when all they seem to do is create a card that is twice as expensive as its ATI counterpart, and offers a negligible performance increase.

Foolishness.... and tradition. I guess. It's true that that last ATI card that made this much of a splash (and ousted the last nVidia card) was the Radeon 9700 Pro (destroyed the GeForce4 Ti 4600, and thrashed the joke nVidia came out with next, the FX5600), but I don't quite get it.

A couple months ago you heard people on this forum talking about how "AMD sucks," and "will never be able to beat nVidia."

Now, however, they seem rather silent.

m1stake
Aug 6, 2008, 05:37 PM
Because until the 12th, the GTX 280 still clings to its sub-10FPS lead when it's only $200 more!!

What a bargain.

nanofrog
Aug 6, 2008, 08:26 PM
Because until the 12th, the GTX 280 still clings to its sub-10FPS lead when it's only $200 more!!

What a bargain.

Dumb question, but what happens on the 12th? :confused:

m1stake
Aug 6, 2008, 09:33 PM
4870x2

nanofrog
Aug 6, 2008, 10:34 PM
4870x2
For Mac?!? :eek: Awesome if it is! :D

alphaod
Aug 6, 2008, 10:35 PM
Dumb question, but what happens on the 12th? :confused:

Nothing. :rolleyes:

m1stake
Aug 6, 2008, 11:33 PM
For Mac?!? :eek: Awesome if it is! :D

...No

nanofrog
Aug 7, 2008, 12:07 AM
...No
I didn't seriously think so. ATI make their latest and greatest available for a Mac at the same time as a PC?!? I'd probably have a coronary. :D :p