PDA

View Full Version : AppID - Program Portal




Jeremy1026
Jul 22, 2008, 10:50 AM
What do I need to put into the AppID? I do not understand what it is asking for in the box on the right at all?



admanimal
Jul 22, 2008, 11:46 AM
What do I need to put into the AppID? I do not understand what it is asking for in the box on the right at all?

They have changed the instructions about what to do with AppIDs about a million times since the program started...

All you have to do now though is type in any kind of name in the left box and then put an asterisk (*) in the right box.

Jeremy1026
Jul 22, 2008, 12:31 PM
They have changed the instructions about what to do with AppIDs about a million times since the program started...

All you have to do now though is type in any kind of name in the left box and then put an asterisk (*) in the right box.

Well then that sucks. I was convinced that was the problem I was having with getting my App to my phone.

Ron C
Jul 24, 2008, 03:33 PM
What kind of problem are you having? I just went through some of this and was finally successful. Take a peek back at a thread titled Problems running application on iPod touch :(.

mpramodjain
Dec 16, 2009, 01:01 PM
They have changed the instructions about what to do with AppIDs about a million times since the program started...

All you have to do now though is type in any kind of name in the left box and then put an asterisk (*) in the right box.


What does an AppId actually consists of ..
com.mycompany.applicationname.

i) does this applicationname(right last one) should be the same as of the name .app binary to be submitted to the Appstore.

ii) is there any way to change the appname after submitting it to the appstore once.

neoserver
Dec 16, 2009, 01:29 PM
What does an AppId actually consists of ..
com.mycompany.applicationname.

i) does this applicationname(right last one) should be the same as of the name .app binary to be submitted to the Appstore.

ii) is there any way to change the appname after submitting it to the appstore once.

The AppID has nothing to do with what your program is named. It is an internal identifier that is used by the system. You could set your AppID to com.mycompany.cheese and call your app Meat and have no issues whatsoever. That being said, you should try to keep the AppID somewhat related to the name of the application to make it easier to do the book-keeping.

To the OP,

You are probably running into problems because you haven't set the AppID in Xcode properly. Go into Xcode and in the project window expand Targets. then do a Get Info on your application under the Targets. Go to the properties tab and ensure that the identifier is set to the same as your AppID. Hopefully that will solve the problem.