PDA

View Full Version : Testing on an actual iPhone device




kalimba
Jul 23, 2008, 02:38 PM
Sorry, I know that this question probably has an answer somewhere here in the forum or on the ADC site, but...

...In a nutshell, what -- besides the iPhone device itself -- is required to test an application on an actual iPhone device? Specifically, I'm curious if the iPhone needs to be associated with an active AT&T account, or not.

Some people in my office are selling their 1st generation iPhones after getting the 3G version and I'm wondering if I should pick up one or two for development purposes.



Dippo
Jul 23, 2008, 02:53 PM
You have to signup for the iPhone Developer Program and pay your $99 before you can test your apps on an actual iPhone.

kalimba
Jul 23, 2008, 03:00 PM
Thanks for the quick reply. Sorry, I should have mentioned that I've already applied to the developer program, paid my fee and have been issued a license key. So I believe I'm at the point that I can start testing on an actual device.

What I don't know (because I don't currently own an actual iPhone myself) is what is required of the iPhone device upon which I want to test. Can I just buy a used 1st generation iPhone from someone and plug in and go? Or does the test device need to be actively signed up to a wireless provider? Will my testing iPhone(s) need SIM cards? etc. etc.

psingh01
Jul 23, 2008, 03:10 PM
Thanks for the quick reply. Sorry, I should have mentioned that I've already applied to the developer program, paid my fee and have been issued a license key. So I believe I'm at the point that I can start testing on an actual device.

What I don't know (because I don't currently own an actual iPhone myself) is what is required of the iPhone device upon which I want to test. Can I just buy a used 1st generation iPhone from someone and plug in and go? Or does the test device need to be actively signed up to a wireless provider? Will my testing iPhone(s) need SIM cards? etc. etc.

Login at developer.apple.com Click the program portal link (somewhere on the right) and follow the long, tedious and torturous process of setting up the profiles. Just make sure you read the instructions carefully.

kalimba
Jul 23, 2008, 05:16 PM
Login at developer.apple.com Click the program portal link (somewhere on the right) and follow the long, tedious and torturous process of setting up the profiles. Just make sure you read the instructions carefully.

Hrm... I guess I'm not asking my question in the most sensible way. I understand that there is a process by which one goes about testing on an iPhone device, but that's not the information I'm looking for.

New question: For anyone who has tested/debugged on an iPhone device (not the simulator), was that device:

(a) the iPhone you use on a daily basis, obviously with service from your wireless provider.
(b) an iPhone that you have specifically and only for iPhone application testing/debugging, with no wireless service.
(c) something in between (a) and (b) -- please describe briefly.

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I'm looking to possibly purchase one or two 1st gen iPhones for use as development targets. I want to know if I'll be wasting my money, or if I'll actually be able to use these iPhones in my development process.

Sbrocket
Jul 23, 2008, 05:41 PM
Hrm... I guess I'm not asking my question in the most sensible way. I understand that there is a process by which one goes about testing on an iPhone device, but that's not the information I'm looking for.

New question: For anyone who has tested/debugged on an iPhone device (not the simulator), was that device:

(a) the iPhone you use on a daily basis, obviously with service from your wireless provider.
(b) an iPhone that you have specifically and only for iPhone application testing/debugging, with no wireless service.
(c) something in between (a) and (b) -- please describe briefly.

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I'm looking to possibly purchase one or two 1st gen iPhones for use as development targets. I want to know if I'll be wasting my money, or if I'll actually be able to use these iPhones in my development process.

Development provisioning profiles are not going to disable features of the phone, especially now that 2.0 is public and out of beta (or so they tell me). You would be perfectly fine using a personal phone as a development target especially now, and I've been doing that since Beta 2. You can use any activated and working iPhone or iPod Touch as a development target. All you have to do is register the device's UDID in the program portal and create or add it to a current development provisioning profile which you then install on the device.

Quick tip: When making your development provisioning profiles, you're best off not specifying a bundle identifier and just using a complete wildcard (no "com.company.blah", no "com.company.*", just "*") so you aren't creating multiple provisioning profiles for each device.

firewood
Jul 23, 2008, 05:52 PM
Apple requires you to disclaim any warranty that the development process won't damage your iPhone. e.g. if your code breaks it, or you install a beta OS which bricks it, they won't fix it.

I used an extra iPod Touch when everything (SDK, OS, and my apps) was still in early beta (weird OS and app crashes, etc.), but switched to a working iPhone for final testing.

psingh01
Jul 23, 2008, 10:29 PM
I only have one iPhone. Actually I only have one phone of any kind. It happens to be my iPhone and I develop on it. Nothing that I've done so far has caused me any problems with regular use as a phone.

If I get a 3G iPhone I will use both to develop and don't expect to have service on my old phone. As I understand it it basically becomes an "iPod Touch" + Camera.

panoz7
Jul 23, 2008, 10:39 PM
If I've read what the OP wrote correctly I think you guys are answering the opposite of what they are asking.

I don't think the OP wants to use the iPhone as a real phone, instead I think they're looking to use it as a test / development device only and they're curious whether or not they need to purchase cell service in order to do that. I'd imagine they'd prefer not to purchase cell service if it's unnecessary.

Unfortunately I don't have an answer to that question. I remember reading a rumor that Apple was going to allow older iphones to work without a sim so that they'd basically perform like an ipod touch.

ayasin
Jul 23, 2008, 11:42 PM
No, the phone does not need to have active service for you to use it in development. You may need to activate it to get it past the "activate in itunes" screen but there are tools that can do that for you. Obviously you won't be able to test features that rely on the edge or 3g network without an active account, but other than that you're fine.

Sbrocket
Jul 24, 2008, 12:24 AM
If I've read what the OP wrote correctly I think you guys are answering the opposite of what they are asking.

I don't think the OP wants to use the iPhone as a real phone, instead I think they're looking to use it as a test / development device only and they're curious whether or not they need to purchase cell service in order to do that. I'd imagine they'd prefer not to purchase cell service if it's unnecessary.

Unfortunately I don't have an answer to that question. I remember reading a rumor that Apple was going to allow older iphones to work without a sim so that they'd basically perform like an ipod touch.

Which is why I included the "You can use any activated and working iPhone or iPod Touch as a development target" line.

However you activate it, it needs to be activated. That's the key part. You don't specifically need to be on AT&T or any cellular provider, just activate it.

How you do that (cellular service through AT&T or hacktivation) is up to you.