PDA

View Full Version : ftp access through a router?




Michael13
Jul 26, 2008, 10:51 PM
I am using dyndns and dydns updater to setup an ftp server through a router. I've tried everything I know (which is not much cause i don't know much about this stuff). Any links or something tips etc. to help me would be appreciated. Thank you.



iGrant
Jul 26, 2008, 11:58 PM
I am using dyndns and dydns updater to setup an ftp server through a router. I've tried everything I know (which is not much cause i don't know much about this stuff). Any links or something tips etc. to help me would be appreciated. Thank you.

You need to allow the port to come through your router. Its usually on a tab called Port Range Forward. You would then need to forward the FTP Port which is 21 to the ip address of your server. This will be the same for anything that you do such as SSH, VNC, etc.

I would help you posted the make and model of your router, as they are not all the same. Depending on the model I can walk you through the process.

-iGrant

mwchris
Jul 27, 2008, 12:02 AM
I highly recommend the following site:

http://www.diywebserver.com/

It has a ton of great information, and even if your equipment, router for instance, is not exactly the same, the settings should be identical.

Michael13
Jul 27, 2008, 12:24 AM
Thanx guys.

-Chris- Ill look at the website now. thanx.

-iGrant- Thanks! the router is an Airport extreme.

iGrant
Jul 27, 2008, 09:50 AM
Thanx guys.

-Chris- Ill look at the website now. thanx.

-iGrant- Thanks! the router is an Airport extreme.

I will write you a short tutorial after I eat lunch!!!

-iGramt