PDA

View Full Version : Making an FTP server???




ElectricMan5
Jul 29, 2008, 04:57 PM
How do i make an FTP server, like ftp://ibiblio.org/?

I want too add one too my own domain, www.electricman5.com which I use Freewebs to edit, or one to my IP address, which I used DynDNS for. So how do i make it ftp://electricman5.com, and where would i put the files?

Whenever I type in ftp://electricman5.servebbs.com, which is my DynDNS site, it's blank! Where do i put the files on my Mac?

Thanks!



steveza
Jul 29, 2008, 05:04 PM
You need something like http://www.jscape.com/secureftpserver/

theyellowdart
Jul 29, 2008, 05:06 PM
What version of OS X are you running?

For 10.5, all you really need to do is go to system preferences -> sharing -> File sharing -> options and select the FTP option. (May be the same for prior versions too, I just don't have an older system around to check)

You would then use your DynDNS address to connect to it.

ElectricMan5
Jul 29, 2008, 05:06 PM
You need something like http://www.jscape.com/secureftpserver/

Is this for the DNS or for ElectricMan5? I'm completely clueless with this stuff...

steveza
Jul 29, 2008, 05:07 PM
or that :)

depends how much functionality you need.

ElectricMan5
Jul 29, 2008, 05:08 PM
What version of OS X are you running?

For 10.5, all you really need to do is go to system preferences -> sharing -> File sharing -> options and select the FTP option. (May be the same for prior versions too, I just don't have an older system around to check)

You would then use your DynDNS address to connect to it.

But where would I put the files? Would the address have the ftp:// in it?

theyellowdart
Jul 29, 2008, 05:09 PM
or that :)

depends how much functionality you need.

Completely agree, the default one that comes with OS X doesn't give the user a lot of functionality without getting into some ugly conf files.

ElectricMan5
Jul 29, 2008, 05:10 PM
or that :)

depends how much functionality you need.

I just want the list of files in which they can download, but in the ibiblio way. Jeez, I love this! So many answers!

theyellowdart
Jul 29, 2008, 05:10 PM
But where would I put the files? Would the address have the ftp:// in it?

It will ask you what you want to share with the FTP, so you just add the folder you want to share, and put your files there. The address would need to have ftp:// in it.

steveza
Jul 29, 2008, 05:10 PM
Is this for the DNS or for ElectricMan5? I'm completely clueless with this stuff...Basically you need some way of running an FTP service on you machine. DNS is just a way of converting a friendly name like macrumors.com into a internet address like 74.86.132.180.

theyellowdart
Jul 29, 2008, 05:11 PM
Also, remember if you are behind a home router, you are going to need to forward the FTP port to your computer. (21)

ElectricMan5
Jul 29, 2008, 05:13 PM
Also, remember if you are behind a home router, you are going to need to forward the FTP port to your computer. (21)

Would anybody be able to access it over the internet? This is sort of what u want people to do... Download files. How do i find my, i dunno, permanent IP address or something?

steveza
Jul 29, 2008, 05:14 PM
http://whatismyipaddress.com/ Your address may change dynamically - usually when you restart your router - depending on the type of internet service you have.

ElectricMan5
Jul 29, 2008, 05:15 PM
http://whatismyipaddress.com/

Ah. I knew that. Thanks :)

theyellowdart
Jul 29, 2008, 05:15 PM
Would anybody be able to access it over the internet? This is sort of what u want people to do... Download files. How do i find my, i dunno, permanent IP address or something?

Well, if you are using DynDNS it should be forwarding to your outside IP address so that won't be an issue. Unless you're asking how to find what your IP is on your Mac, if that's the case just go to system preferences -> network and it should be listed there.

And yes, you should only do that if you want people outside your network to be able to connect to it.

ElectricMan5
Jul 29, 2008, 05:18 PM
It will ask you what you want to share with the FTP, so you just add the folder you want to share, and put your files there. The address would need to have ftp:// in it.

I chose the folders and I went to the address, and nothing appeared! It also says something like: Error 530: Anonymous User. And then it comes back every other time I go to the site. What is this?

ChrisA
Jul 29, 2008, 05:27 PM
I chose the folders and I went to the address, and nothing appeared! It also says something like: Error 530: Anonymous User. And then it comes back every other time I go to the site. What is this?

This means your server is running and talking to the world, or at least to you.

Do you want anonymous users to access the file or do you want only people who have a user account to access them? Likely anonymous access if disabled by default. You typically configure this in a .conf file in /etc. There should be documentation in a man page named the same as the .conf file. but you could just read the comments in the file.

ElectricMan5
Jul 29, 2008, 05:30 PM
This means your server is running and talking to the world, or at least to you.

Do you want anonymous users to access the file or do you want only people who have a user account to access them? Likely anonymous access if disabled by default. You typically configure this in a .conf file in /etc. There should be documentation in a man page named the same as the .conf file. but you could just read the comments in the file.

I'm a little confused... Where do I find this file? And also, none of the files are appearing in the list. Where do i put the files??

theyellowdart
Jul 29, 2008, 05:30 PM
I chose the folders and I went to the address, and nothing appeared! It also says something like: Error 530: Anonymous User. And then it comes back every other time I go to the site. What is this?

It means whatever browser you are using is trying to log you in as an anonymous user and not giving you the login prompt.

Also, just an FYI, your DynDNS entry is pointing to your Private IP, so nobody can use that to get to your computer from the outside. To do that you need to change it to the output from www.whatismyip.com

phalewhale
Jul 29, 2008, 05:33 PM
Personally, I wouldn't even think about doing it on my everyday machine. Instead, I'd use a separate mac/linux box on the DMZ of my network.

ElectricMan5
Jul 29, 2008, 05:35 PM
Personally, I wouldn't even think about doing it on my everyday machine. Instead, I'd use a separate mac/linux box on the DMZ of my network.

I having it set up on an external harddrive. It works fine with an Apache Server, but it's not what I want. Right now I'm testing it on my Mac, then i'll switch it over. I'm still stuck though :(

ElectricMan5
Jul 29, 2008, 05:36 PM
It means whatever browser you are using is trying to log you in as an anonymous user and not giving you the login prompt.

Also, just an FYI, your DynDNS entry is pointing to your Private IP, so nobody can use that to get to your computer from the outside. To do that you need to change it to the output from www.whatismyip.com

K. I just switched it over. Hope it works now :)

theyellowdart
Jul 29, 2008, 05:45 PM
K. I just switched it over. Hope it works now :)

That's not going to fix the issue you're having unfortuantly. Just something you would need to do if you wanted others to connect to your FTP server.

So, what you need to decide is if you want anonymous users to be able to connect or not. Personally, I do NOT recommend this. If you do, then you need to go through editing conf files to complete it, not something I recommed I would opt for steveza third party FTP server in that case.

If not, just figure out why your browser is trying to log you in as anonymous and not giving you a login prompt. I use opera, and on my test on my computer and it will prompt me for a username and password. Might want to try a different browser and see if you keep getting the same anonymous user error.

I can't connect to yours to see if it will do that also because you don't have port 21 forwarded on your router (Not trying to do anything nasty, promise, i'm a good fella :D ) Check out www.portfoward.com for instructions on that if you need them.

ElectricMan5
Jul 29, 2008, 05:46 PM
It means whatever browser you are using is trying to log you in as an anonymous user and not giving you the login prompt.

Also, just an FYI, your DynDNS entry is pointing to your Private IP, so nobody can use that to get to your computer from the outside. To do that you need to change it to the output from www.whatismyip.com

The IP address that the site gave me isn't working! It now says that there's an error. The other one worked...

ElectricMan5
Jul 29, 2008, 05:48 PM
That's not going to fix the issue you're having unfortuantly. Just something you would need to do if you wanted others to connect to your FTP server.

So, what you need to decide is if you want anonymous users to be able to connect or not. Personally, I do NOT recommend this. If you do, then you need to go through editing conf files to complete it, not something I recommed I would opt for steveza third party FTP server in that case.

If not, just figure out why your browser is trying to log you in as anonymous and not giving you a login prompt. I use opera, and on my test on my computer and it will prompt me for a username and password. Might want to try a different browser and see if you keep getting the same anonymous user error.

I can't connect to yours to see if it will do that also because you don't have port 21 forwarded on your router (Not trying to do anything nasty, promise, i'm a good fella :D ) Check out www.portfoward.com for instructions on that if you need them.

I know it doesn't. But now the IP isn't working at all! I had to switch it back. Why wasn't the one that the site gave me working? It said it couldn't connect.

theyellowdart
Jul 29, 2008, 05:50 PM
The IP address that the site gave me isn't working! It now says that there's an error. The other one worked...

Refer to the bottom of my last post, it most likely has to do with your router not having port 21 forwarded to your local computer.

The reason why it worked before is it was pointing to a private IP address on your network, so when you went to your DynDNS address it was just going to a 192.168 address, and was never going through your router. That's why it would connect.

Now that it is going to your Outside IP like it should, it's leaving your network, then coming back in, and your router isn't forwarding the port to your local computer, so it's erroring.

ElectricMan5
Jul 29, 2008, 05:56 PM
Refer to the bottom of my last post, it most likely has to do with your router not having port 21 forwarded to your local computer.

The reason why it worked before is it was pointing to a private IP address on your network, so when you went to your DynDNS address it was just going to a 192.168 address, and was never going through your router. That's why it would connect.

Now that it is going to your Outside IP like it should, it's leaving your network, then coming back in, and your router isn't forwarding the port to your local computer, so it's erroring.

So how do I forward it? I don't know what that other site was... I think the link might've been down. Does it work for you when you go to it? electricman5.servebbs.com

I want it to be ftp://electricman5.servebbs.com. Thats what the original question was, and i still have no idea how to do it. I made the servebbs one from redirecting Macs built in Apache WebServer folder to my external harddrive. But how do i make it look like ibiblios pimped one, when mine is only text?

theyellowdart
Jul 29, 2008, 06:02 PM
So how do I forward it? I don't know what that other site was... I think the link might've been down. Does it work for you when you go to it? electricman5.servebbs.com

To do this, you need to go to DynDNS and set it to be your outside IP like you did (not sure if you changed it back or not).

You then need to forward the needed ports on your router to your local computer. http://www.portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/routerindex.htm has instructions based on routers, find your router and forward port 21 (and 80 for web) to your local IP address of the server (Found in System Preferences -> Network).

Once you do that, you SHOULD be able to get to ftp://electricman5.servebbs.com

But how do i make it look like ibiblios pimped one, when mine is only text?

You'll need to look into web design for that... It's not like there is a flip you can switch and make your website look fancy and nice. Typically a decent amount of work goes into it.

ElectricMan5
Jul 29, 2008, 06:09 PM
To do this, you need to go to DynDNS and set it to be your outside IP like you did (not sure if you changed it back or not).

You then need to forward the needed ports on your router to your local computer. http://www.portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/routerindex.htm has instructions based on routers, find your router and forward port 21 (and 80 for web) to your local IP address of the server (Found in System Preferences -> Network).

Once you do that, you SHOULD be able to get to ftp://electricman5.servebbs.com

You'll need to look into web design for that... It's not like there is a flip you can switch and make your website look fancy and nice. Typically a decent amount of work goes into it.

Thats what it was in the first place... When i go to ftp://electricman5.servebbs.com, it looks just like ibiblios, but with no files. When i just go to electricman5.servebbs.com, it has the files, but is in the text format. How do i make the files appear on ftp://? Like, so I don't get the 530 error, which I'm getting every other time. I think it has something to do with anonymous users. How do i enable it so anonymous can access it? Sorry about all the questions...

theyellowdart
Jul 29, 2008, 06:13 PM
If you refer to an earlier post I touched on how you would be able to enable anonymous users, and that I DON'T recommend it... and since I don't recommend it (and due to the difficulty involved in getting the built-in FTP server to allow anonymous connections) I won't give you instructions how.

If you really want to, and in an easy way... then look into a third party FTP server.

I don't want to be rude, but I did comment on how to do that already, and to change your browser to see if you get a login prompt (which in-turn should allow you to see your files... since I believe that's your issue. That you're not logging into the FTP account).

ElectricMan5
Jul 29, 2008, 06:17 PM
If you refer to an earlier post I touched on how you would be able to enable anonymous users, and that I DON'T recommend it... and since I don't recommend it (and due to the difficulty involved in getting the built-in FTP server to allow anonymous connections) I won't give you instructions how.

If you really want to, and in an easy way... then look into a third party FTP server.

I don't want to be rude, but I did comment on how to do that already, and to change your browser to see if you get a login prompt (which in-turn should allow you to see your files... since I believe that's your issue. That you're not logging into the FTP account).

Sorry bout that... I'm using FireFox and Safari. One more question: I went to that port forwarding website, and I couldn't find my router. I have a Westell, and I found one with the same exact model under the Westell list, but instead of C90, like on mine, it had E90. I don't know if it matters... But what program do i choose?

theyellowdart
Jul 29, 2008, 06:18 PM
It should be fine, simply follow the instructions as best you can. If you still have the manual for it, it should have instructions in there too.