Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MacBoobsPro

macrumors 603
Original poster
Jan 10, 2006
I am creating a list of tips and info for iWeb users and as I understand it iWeb is fully compliant with international standards regarding the languages it uses. However Internet Explorer is not and for the majority of websites workarounds are needed to accommodate Explorer. Would the following statement be true?

Although iWeb complies to International standards regarding HTML, XHTML, CSS etc, Microsoft Internet Explorer does not and Explorer will often display anomalies when viewing any website built to International Standards (like ones built using iWeb). Web designers invariably have to create workarounds to accommodate Microsoft Internet Explorer. iWeb pages may not always display correctly in Microsoft Internet Explorer. I unfortunately cannot offer any tips here as I am not a web designer myself.

clevin

macrumors G3
Aug 6, 2006
its called W3C standard.

iWeb is an app to produce webpages, there is no "standard compliance" to talk about, only browsers have this issue.

All browsers are standard compliance to certain degree, IE, is indeed doing very badly in many areas.

But again, Im not sure there is a solid evidence to say iWeb will produce 100% standard compliant webpages and IE will not display, both statements might not be that solid.

design-is

macrumors 65816
Oct 17, 2007
London / U.K.
I agree... iWeb may well produce code which is correct, but standards compliance can mean all sorts of things... e.g. iWeb is awful for creating sites that comply with recognised accessibility standards. It will produces code that should work.. if that's what you mean.

Generally speaking, IE (especially 6 - grrrr) will usually manage to render something wrong when most other browsers will show it correctly.

MacBoobsPro

macrumors 603
Original poster
Jan 10, 2006