PDA

View Full Version : VGA to component to VGA




ltldrummerboy
Aug 2, 2008, 01:49 AM
I have a DVD player and Wii running into a component video switcher. The output is a 50' component to VGA cable into a projector. I recently ordered another shorter component/VGA cable with the idea that I could attach it to my MacBook, run the cable into my switcher, and then up to the projector without having to run a whole 'nuther 50' VGA to VGA cable. I just tried it and it didn't work. Does anyone know why this is? I thought it might work since I'm starting and ending with VGA.

(Enter helpful artwork)



gkarris
Apr 24, 2009, 10:43 AM
I was wondering about this too.

I think this is because a VGA-Component cable doesn't carry all the VGA signals that a computer needs. By the time it gets to the projector, it's missing some computer signals and thinks a component source is hooked up to it.

I have my Mini upstairs, but Plex is so awesome, I'm thinking of putting it with my home theater and putting my AppleTV back upstairs (it's only a 17" LCD).

Does anyone know if this works great?

http://www.amazon.com/StarTech-VGA2CPNT-Component-Video-Converter/dp/B000G6Y0S6/ref=pd_bbs_sr_2?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1240587737&sr=8-2

jonbravo77
Apr 24, 2009, 10:53 AM
I have a DVD player and Wii running into a component video switcher. The output is a 50' component to VGA cable into a projector. I recently ordered another shorter component/VGA cable with the idea that I could attach it to my MacBook, run the cable into my switcher, and then up to the projector without having to run a whole 'nuther 50' VGA to VGA cable. I just tried it and it didn't work. Does anyone know why this is? I thought it might work since I'm starting and ending with VGA.

(Enter helpful artwork)

You're missing the Sync signals that the computer outputs. A computer outputs essentially 5 signals RGBHV ( Red Green Blue Horizontal Vertical ). With component the sync is usually on the green line but when dealing with a VGA signal sync is separate.


Does anyone know if this works great?

http://www.amazon.com/StarTech-VGA2CPNT-Component-Video-Converter/dp/B000G6Y0S6/ref=pd_bbs_sr_2?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1240587737&sr=8-2

This should work since the box will take the Horizontal and Vertical sync from the computer and convert it to one port on the Component side. But you will need a cable that has 4-wires to connect it to the Component switcher but if the Component switcher does not have sync capability or the ability to redirect the sync down green (essentially a dumb switch) then it won't work. You'll need this switch (http://www.comprehensiveinc.com/store/p/7887-4x1-Component-Video-and-Stereo-Audio-Switcher.aspx) if you enlarge the picture you will see that it has and H port, that is the sync.

gkarris
Apr 24, 2009, 01:15 PM
^^^ Thanks. I got a fancy new NEC projector late last year and remember reading something like it'll take any signal and try to process it regardless.

Anywhoo....

Over lunch I bought something like that at Frys - I will take it home and see how well that works...

Nice to know... also nice to have a thread dedicated to HT so we can try all this stuff out.

ltldrummerboy
Apr 24, 2009, 03:36 PM
I ended up buying another VGA-VGA cable for $20 on ebay, but now I know why it wouldn't work. Thanks for the answer.

gkarris
Apr 25, 2009, 08:49 PM
Anywhoo....

Over lunch I bought something like that at Frys - I will take it home and see how well that works...



Well, I just hooked it up. There's a reason why it's only $60. It takes all the different computer resolutions and downscales it to 480i.

I thought it would do at least 720p as it does have component, but the box never mentioned the output, only an input resolution of up to 1600 x 1200.

It's going back.... :mad:

I may just have to one day run another VGA cable, as the the projector I have now has 2 VGA/Component inputs, and one is already used as the component input (from the original wiring).

For now, I guess I just have to use my AppleTV.

Ericjohn
Sep 27, 2009, 08:35 PM
I just bought an old used video projector and the adapter for my macbook to the VGA analog cord. The video projector only seems to read part of what is displayed on my macbook? Keynote will only display when I run slide show. My desktop image shows but no icons, internet browsers or DVD Player! What is going on?:eek:

waw74
Sep 27, 2009, 09:09 PM
i answered in your other post of the same question.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=794024